66Seattle, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm a writer, teacher, mother-empty-nester seeking a rest-of-our-lives best friend to share articles in the New Yorker, great movies, or at least someone to share his popcorn.I am a retired learning specialist, and have been fascinated my entire life with how living beings learn - mostly human beings- but also my Australian Shepherd Gilah . If you'd travel with me, you might also find me to be the epitome of an intrepid traveler, unless your concept of travel is seeking out Americans and McCorporate accomodations, of course. Total strangers tell me their life stories in taxis, bus stops, spas, airport shuttles and grocery check-out lines. I'm open-souled,authentically friendly, warm, youthful and fit. I love blues, classical music, espresso, poetry, novels to lose myself in, bicycle trips, jogging barefoot on the beach, holding hands, massaging toes, cooking with olive oil, foreign movies, Landmark films, eating decadent chocolate.
What I’m doing with my life
In 2010 I retired from my position as the learning specialist of a small private high school. Now I have to leisure to volunteer twice weekly in my neighborhood elementary school, to coach students for their college essays, assist neighbors in learning English, and to cook for anyone else who isn't stuck on meat and potatoes. For the first time in more than thirty years I have the time to choose my own book titles, even read three at once, without having to compose provocative essay exams or vocabulary quizzes . I have time to read the NY Times, the New Yorker, The PCC newsletter, but only if I really want to. In my retirement I sleep until 8:00 on cloudy days, do a little yoga, always meditate, I brew my morning espresso, run in the woods with my dog Gilah, bicycle the beaches of West Seattle or take off on a ferry for a day at Vashon, just because I can. On Sundays, I wake up to the Puzzle Master Will Short; Afternoons I find myself cleaning the kitchen for hours as an excuse to listen to Prairie Home Companion, Radio Lab, The Vinyl Cafe , and a few more. And did I tell you I make fine very dark chocolate?
I’m really good at
befriending strangers,
playing with children
international cooking without recipes.
making decadent dark chocolate
giving back massages
reading aloud
giving warm hugs
writing lists (but not profiles).
The first things people usually notice about me
My naturally curly hair, and authentic, warm smile. They also comment on my youthfulness, and lately, my navy blue fleece, which buttons down from neck to wrist.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, (anything else by J.A. Foer), Short stories by Nathan Englander,
In the Garden of Beasts
Proof of Heaven
The Known World
South of Broad
Empire Falls
The Kite Runner
The Things They Carried
The Catcher in the Rye,
Their Eyes Were Watching God (Zora Hurston)
Beloved and everything else by Toni Morrison
Everyday Holiness. a book of the musar.

Movies: Recently, Argo, Lincoln,
Too many to mention, but here are a few of my classical favorites: serious drama, romantic comedies, foreign films, documentary, and classics: "A Thousand Clowns","Casa Blanca",
"The Sound of Music" (I like to sing to it.) ,
Music: jazz standards, classical, blues, ethnic folk.
Food: babaganouj, spicy samosas, roasted yams, pesto pasta, wild greens salad, trout almondine , grilled salmon, tiramisu, crisp apples dipped in peanut butter, (really), espresso.
Six things I could never do without
These are the things I could, but would not want, to do without:
my family - but they are not "things",
my dog Gilah,
proximity to water, preferably an ocean
running shoes or sandals,
my cast iron pans
my favorite faded jeans
a lined composition journal and pen
a quiet place to meditate,
dark, dark chocolate
I spend a lot of time thinking about
how to become more mindful, a better listener, a be-er, not just a do-er.. Also my family, my community, my dog, my friends, great chocolate, and the location of my cell phone, keys, and hat.
On a typical Friday night I am
Sharing a traditional shabbat dinner with my children, and/or good friends, followed by "The Plays the Thing" on radio while I do the dishes. Raising three children in secular Seattle, Friday night dinners have been my strategy, to get all of us to unplug and come home for dinner. Now all are healthy, independent, successful adults, but when they are in town, they still come to dinner. (Maybe it's my homemade cardamon challah.)
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I hate folding laundry, but enjoy ironing . Anything else you'd have to know me to find out.
You should message me if
you are serious about seeking a rest-of-your-life partner,
if you are funny, insightful, self-contained, independent,
if you are physically fit, not an at-home television junkie, if you are literate, intellectually and geographically curious, warm, cuddly. Extra points if you are ethnically Jewish - you don't have to be religious. Bonus points for meditators.
The two of us