GirlintheBar
26 Manhattan, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
GirlintheBar
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Currently on my repeat playlist: Charlie Puth - "We Don't Talk Anymore".

Anyone want to go karaoke-ing this weekend? :)

Online Dating Motto: [In economic terms] optimally improving the quality of dates in favor of one's utility function in the long-run.

MBTI: INTJ in my personal life, but an ENTJ at work; Type A Personality
What I’m doing with my life
I started using online dating just shy of a year ago after a string of long-term relationships that didn't seem to work out. Like most, at first, I was extremely skeptical of the idea of finding dates through a dating service. But, one of my close friends convinced me to sign-up and only after a few weeks in, online dating became one of my greatest assets for broadening my social circle. I went on some pretty wonderful dates, met a lot of great people in the city, and really got the chance to get to know myself better. Online dating sites don’t just give you the traditional experience of dating; they help you learn what really works and what doesn’t, and really quickly. I don’t think I’ll ever get over how fascinating it is that a scientifically calculated algorithm can quantitatively determine your desires.

I completed my undergrad at NYU studying Economics and Chemistry (Yes. I am a nerd), in hopes of one day finding the missing link between the social and hard sciences. Specifically, I'm interested in the field of game theory, applied mathematics, and social/behavioral sciences and how these concepts can be applied to medicine. For two years, I worked at a company in NJ as a practitioner using neuroplasticity to treat patients with ADHD, autism, dementia, Alzheimer's, and TBI/concussions. The summer after I left my job, I spent my final weeks in NYC (mostly in Brooklyn & Manhattan) before moving to Cleveland for grad school.

Recently, I completed my graduate program at Case Med and moved back into the city to work mostly for the clinical side of healthcare: doing clinical research in the Neurology ICU department, running my own non-profit against child obesity, and dabbing in the consulting industry here and there.
I’m really good at
coming up with 'creative' ways to solve problems, navigating a new city, analyzing using logic and reasoning, telling ridiculously corny jokes, performing pop and classical music on the violin for an inquisitive crowd, speaking foreign languages, and taking on new challengers on the fencing strip.

This past May I backpacked western Europe and hit 15 cities in 3 weeks. I'm quite the efficient traveler. :)
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
TV Shows: Good Behavior, Dr. Who, Mad Men, Pablo Escobar: El Patron De Mal, White Collar, Lie to Me, Community, New Girl, Arrested Development, Pushing Daisies, Modern Family, 30 Rock, Greek, Grey's Anatomy, How I Met Your Mother, Law & Order SVU, Numb3rs, The X-Files, Doogie Howser, M.D., 90210

Movies: TiMER, Sliding Doors, Cafe, Casanova, Original Sin, 500 Days of Summer, Inception, W;t, People Will Talk, Beautiful Mind, The Imitation Game (this movie reminded me of another great biography "Tesla - Man Out of Time" that I finished reading recently), The Duchess, Colonia, Under the Hawthorne Tree, House of Flying Daggers, Law Abiding Citizen, The Shining, 28 Days Later, Zombieland,Hot Fuzz, Shaun of the Dead, Suckerpunch, Kickass, Fantastic Mr. Fox,Moonrise Kingdom, Up, Ratatouille, Cabin in the Woods (thanks to an incredibly persuasive debater usernamephobic)

Literature: NYT, WSJ, and any current bestsellers

I absolutely love reading. If that needs quantifying, that means I'll generally read up to 90 - 120 books/year depending on how busy that year turns out to be. I'll also pretty much read anything anyone recommends to me. If you have a good book, article, column, comic strip, or topic to peruse, etc... I'm always up for suggestions.

Food: Italian, Mediterranean, French, Thai, Japanese, Korean, Afghan, homemade Chinese, and an assortment of desserts that I indulge in on occasion.

I try to maintain a healthy lifestyle both physically and mentally.

Music: I'm a classicist at heart.

Sports I Watch: Hockey, Soccer, Tennis

Sports I Play/Entertain: Epee Fencing, Tennis, Table Tennis, Running, Skiing
The six things I could never do without
the 5 basic needs, the ability to feel emotions, meaningful conversations, healthy and unhealthy obsessions, time, and second chances.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
if I give due credit to the potential of math and science and their current capabilities to significantly impact our world for the greater good.
On a typical Friday night I am
meeting up with fellow OKC members, wandering the streets of NYC, at a bar, going out with friends, at a coffeeshop, at a Broadway show or the Philharmonic, relaxing at home watching my latest TV series obsession, staying in and studying up, or back in Jersey desperate for some obligatory rest.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'll raise you 5:

I dance on my commute to work.

I need a full-time secretary to handle my OKC account... (I respond in bulk.)

I almost pursued a career as a professional violinist at one point.

I was East Coast Tetris champion in 2010.

And, I eat my candy the way sick Americans pop pills.
You should message me if
you think we would be compatible if we met, or you'd like to pick up boxing with me.

Cheers to you all and hope those in search of love find it.
Be a fucking human being. ;)

-Stephanie
More