GnarlyNature
35 Portland, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
GnarlyNature
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm not on here a lot, but if we seem compatible and you'd like to meet up to see if that pans out in person, then please don't be shy, and feel free to say hello.

Among other things I am a cabbie, a backpacker, a car-free cyclist, and am into community brewing, and other such activities. Living in the present is important to me, as is living life with intention, as due to our perception of the world around us, the present is the only time in which we truly do exist. Want to travel through time with me? =^)
What I’m doing with my life
I live in the Buckman neighborhood, and mostly stick to the east side except for work. I'm working on making my place my own, financial stability to take backpacking trips like the Camino de Santiago, finding others to share in my life and this journey, and am enjoying all that this town has to offer.
I’m really good at
Backpacking, cycling, random adventures. I prefer those with as much or more rad quirkiness than myself, so bonus points if you can take me out of my element. Let's keep Portland weird in a good way. =^)
The first things people usually notice about me
I am currently sporting a classic clean shaven look, though in the past one might have commented on my beard or sideburns. It is probably best that we meet so you can find out for yourself.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
All of these topics in just one section? I think these are best left to find out after having met, as my tastes vary and matching them exactly isn't necessary for us to have a good time.

I enjoy reading, such as keeping up with National Geographic as I am a life member thanks to that as a birthday present from my grandmother. I finish a novel every few weeks. There aren't many current TV shows that I follow, but do have a few favorite shows old and newer and enjoy good documentaries.

And I like bands with amazing vocalists and/or that are highly technical and excel at performing varied musical styles. Stiff with guitars and all that jazz.

If you want to have a marathon watching any of the following I'd be down: Star Trek, LotR, Firefly, Back to the Future, Cowboy Bebop, Superman, Don Hertzfeldt cartoons (I have Rejected and The Animation Show on DVD.), Seinfeld, Bones, Stargate, View Askew movies, Monty Python, Mel Brooks, Star Wars, Indiana Jones, Terminator, Bruce Willis, Bones, and I am sure there are others I'm leaving out.

I will eat just about any food that came about without suffering by fellow Earthlings. Some favorite restaurants and foods are, Portobello, Blossoming Lotus, Sweetpea, flavorful tofu scrambles, vegan mac n' cheeze... there is so much amazing food here!
The six things I could never do without
Amazing friends and loving family, fruits and veggies, communing with Nature, my bikes and joy for riding them, tasty local brews with fun people...
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The ways in which our society and culture could change to be more in tune with the rest of Nature. How to keep having lots of fun, but also be responsible and work enough to buy into my company by next year. How to separate my work and social life by doing things such as leaving my smartphone at home when I don't have a specific use for it, thereby letting the night unfold in an organic manner.
On a typical Friday night I am
I make Thursday my 'Friday' since I enjoy going to the brew nights for Community Supported Brewing. Sometimes we have live music around a campfire even. The Midnight Mystery Ride happens on the second Friday of the month and I enjoy going on that on actual Friday, among other possibilities.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I am an enigma, wrapped in a chocolate candy coating, wrapped in an enigma.
You should message me if
-You'd honestly like to get together and see if we have good chemistry in person.
-You want to break the stereotype of the male making first contact, on this site or on our first date.
-You are awake and live life with intention! =^)
More