42Wood Dale, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
OK, how much to give away, and how much to keep a mystery for later?

I'm up for just about anything, provided I can make the time for it. I have a full time job, and I have a son that I try to spend as much time as I can with. He lives with his mother, and she and I have been divorced since 2006.

If that hasn't scared you off, I'm also an extremely honest person. I try to be considerate of people's feelings, but I'll be blunt and brutal, if I have to. I don't have the energy or patience for games.

I'm typically pretty laid back-a jeans & t-shirt guy, but I dress for the occasion. Whether that's a casual dinner & a movie, a weekend camping trip, or a black tie event. I like to put forth effort for a woman that is appreciative and deserving, and she should do the same.

I'm a HUGE Blackhawks fan, and have been for the last 20+ years. I don't really care much for other sports, but if you also like hockey, you've already got a few points in my book.

I do my best to have a positive attitude while remaining grounded & realistic in my expectations. Sometimes life throws you a curve, but I make the best of it, learn from it and move on.

I'm FIERCELY loyal to my friends, and I think everyone should be. After all, unlike your biological family you are stuck with, friends are the family you choose!
What I’m doing with my life
I currently work in the insurance industry, so you can guess how exciting that is. I've been focusing on taking better care of myself lately. I quit smoking cold turkey on 2/1/13 after 25 years, and I feel great! Wish I had done it sooner. I've also recently changed my eating and exercise habits for the better. I quit drinking pop on 9/18/13 as well!

Being able to quit smoking through sheer determination has really allowed me to realize that I can apply that mindset to other facets of life and achieve anything that I really want to put the effort into. It's quite empowering to be able to look back and see things I've been able to do that at one point I never thought I could!
I’m really good at
Being sarcastic. No, really. :)

I'm quite the jokester-I love to make people laugh, and have no problem making a joke at my own expense! A sense of humor is extremely high on my requirement list.

I'm also really good at telling the truth and communicating what I need/want/expect. If you can't do the same, you should look elsewhere.
The first things people usually notice about me
Lately, people have been noticing that I've dropped some weight and am looking better!
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I watch more TV than I should. Currently, I'm watching Game of Thrones, Arrow, Supernatural, The Big Bang Theory, Modern Family, The Walking Dead, The Flash, The Goldbergs, and a few others. (Three's Company is my guilty go-to pleasure!) I DO NOT watch any "reality" shows - cannot stand them.

Movies-there's way too many, but I typically go for non-romantic comedies, superhero stuff(Hey, I'm a geek), and good dramas. Some favs are: The Empire Strikes Back, The Dark Knight, A Few Good Men, Braveheart, Airplane!, The Kentucky Fried Movie, The Blind Side, Caddyshack, Strange Brew, and I'll admit I watched The Notebook once, and got pretty misty-eyed.

Music is another beast-my tastes vary, but my mainstay is classic rock/metal. I'll pretty much listen to anything EXCEPT Pop, R&B, most Hip/hop, and "new" Country. I play a game with my friends where we randomly spout off the next 10 artists on our shuffle playlist. Here's what just came up on mine:
Judas Priest, The Beatles, CCR, House of Pain, a Spongebob Squarepants song (gotta have music loaded for my son), Cat Stevens, Charles Mingus, Rammstein, James Taylor, & Otis Redding.

Books-I don't make enough time to read, but when I do it's usually fantasy. HUGE fan of "A Song of Ice and Fire" series (Game of Thrones)
Six things I could never do without
*My son
*My friends
*My family
*Internet (Sad, I know)
*Mexican food
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How much more time I'd like to spend with my son. I only get a few hours on Wednesday nights, and then every other weekend, (and the occasional activity of his; swimming, scouts, music recital, etc...)
On a typical Friday night I am
If it's a weekend with my son, we're usually grocery shopping before getting home and throwing in a movie-I've gotten him hooked on Mystery Science Theater 3000!

If I don't have my son, it's either at a restaurant with friends, or at home doing laundry & catching up on TV. (So exciting!)
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Nothing on here-I'm an open book, so ask me anything, and I have no problems answering.
You should message me if
-You are fine with me already being a parent. This is big-I'm not on the hunt to find someone to have another child with, but I'm not entirely against it either.
-You are honest, brutally, if necessary.
-You have a great sense of humor and can appreciate sarcasm. (Take it as well as dish it out!)
-You like to have fun, but know when responsibilities come first.
-You are open & willing to make new friends, if there's no romantic chemistry.
-You have read all the above info!

You're on here with the ultimate goal of meeting someone too, so make the most of it-Life's too short!
The two of us