41 Brooklyn, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Outgoing (I'm on a first-name basis at my neighborhood haunts), laid back (lived in Berkeley/Oakland and Seattle), edgy (moved back to New York), fun (like my tequila neat), discriminating (the tequila can't be Cuervo), caring (I'm there for my friends in good times and bad).
I love to travel and my vacation schedule allows me to do so.
When the weather gets warmer I enjoy riding my bike, taking the train up to Cold Spring for a hike, going to Rockaway Beach, and spending time in nature (mountains, rivers, wherever).
I've been blessed with a wonderful family and a great group of friends.
What I’m doing with my life
I work as a social worker in the NYC public schools making the lives of elementary and middle school kids a little bit better. As a creative outlet I started a gluten free food blog. I've really enjoyed getting to know all the gluten free restaurants and their proprietors during this journey.
I’m really good at
Finding the balance between meaningful work and meaningful play
Mastering the neighborhoods that I live and work in
Walking into a room of strangers and walking out with new acquaintances or friends
Arranging for good meals, whether picking a restaurant or planning a home-cooked dinner
The first things people usually notice about me
My blue eyes
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I have read everything written by Jumpa Lahiri
Other favorites-David Sedaris, Jonathan Safran Foer, Junot Diaz (The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao), Jonathan Tropper (This Is Where I Leave You).

Movies-I like smaller films (Before Sunrise, Midnight in Paris), foreign films (Pedro Almovodar, The Sea Within), raunchy comedies (Baby Mama, Hangover), and vintage '80s (Better Off Dead, Say Anything-who doesn't love Lloyd Dobler)

T.V.-Orange is the New Black, Game of Thrones, Law and Order SVU
Anthony Bourdain's No Reservations

Music-My musical muses always point me in the right direction--most recently Jackie Greene and Chris Robinson Brotherhood. I also like Gillian Welch, Neil Young, The Grateful Dead, Mumford and Sons, Nina Simone.

Food-I am continually experimenting in the kitchen. My most recent culinary masterpiece was a mortar and pestle green curry shrimp noodle soup.
I like to host and attend dinner parties and have recently checked out a couple of pop up supper clubs.
I'm a believer in farm-to-table.
The six things I could never do without
My family
The companionship of people I love spending time with
Yoga, to stay balanced
Vacations, with or without a passport
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How my actions affect others.
What was I thinking when I chose not to eat meat for 17 years and how everything really does taste better with bacon.
On a typical Friday night I am
Doing something on the mellow side, mostly likely in Brooklyn.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
People tell me I look like Lake Bell.
You should message me if
You have a good heart, are down to earth, enjoy good food/drink, have a positive outlook on life, a good sense of humor, like to travel and enjoy the outdoors. You are content with your life and looking for a meaningful relationship.