57 St. Louis, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I am progressive, politically informed, an environmentalist, a
feminist and I believe in social justice and equality for all. Let me be upfront about something important to me, if you voted for Trump then our values and hearts are too far apart. Same thing goes if you don't believe that man-made climate change is real, if you don't believe in evolution, or a woman's right to govern her own body, or if you are homophobic, Islamophobic, Anti-Semitic, anti-immigrant or racist. I'm willing to debate strategy to strengthen our country, but I am not willing to deal with ignorance and bigotry in my immediate circle of people.

My interests: I read a lot - some fiction and lots of non-fiction.
Recently read books include "The New Jim Crow: Mass Incarceration in the Age of Colorblindness" by Michelle Alexander, "The Secret History of American Empire" by Perkins, "A Short History of Nearly Everything" by Bill Bryson, "Earth Democracy" by Vandana Shiva.

I have a Master's degree in Public Administration and Policy Analysis and value intelligence, both learned an innate.

I love great music including folk, rock, bluegrass, blues, world beat -all kinds. I tend toward independent films and love smartly done documentaries.

I'm a fan of NPR and PBS, BBC and Democracy Now which is where I get most of my news. Whenever I have time I love to watch Rachel Maddow, Jon Stewart or other progressive commentators, and I think "Wait, Wait, Don't Tell Me" is a hoot.

I enjoy ethnic food and cook and eat primarily vegetarian . While I enjoy a meal out, or going to a lecture, play or concert, I am also a homebody and love to cook with/for someone, cuddle on the couch and watch a movie, or read and listen to music.

I live simply compared to most of our culture and believe in the
concept of leaving a small footprint. I enjoy hiking, walking and
have been known to roller blade . I also meditate and occasionally practice yoga. I feel at home and closer to a sense of the divine any time I am in nature.

I am Buddhist in my outlook and try to focus on staying present, cultivating compassion, tolerance, and peace. My background is a combination of Presbyterian and Judaism, so I am a spiritual "mutt". I happen think I was born fine the first time, so if you are an evangelical or a fundamentalist anything we wouldn't be a good match.

As serious as I sound, I am also playful, fun and funny and my
ideal partner is as well.

In a relationship I am loyal, faithful, nurturing and compassionate and passionate. I want a partnership where we are allies and support one another, valuing our differences as much as our similarities. I don't need a partner, but having mastered being alone I am open to finding someone with whom to share the journey.

I am also looking for a meeting of the minds, someone who turns me on because of the quality of the conversation. We would be able to talk about anything, life, politics, philosophy, literature, whatever our varied or mutual interests might stir us to dissect and share.

I am a casual kind of woman who wears minimal make up and jeans and t-shirts most days, but can dress for the occasion. My main exercise is walking and hiking and my body style varies between being fit and carrying some extra pounds. I eat healthy and exercise most days.

I am hoping to meet someone available to date and eventually if we click, for a partner; someone who is self-aware to some degree, is working on his own personal growth as I am, and who knows that an intimate relationship takes work.

If you want someone who smiles a lot, lives fully in the moment, who will challenge and excite you...I could be that person.

There are a few additional caveats: I prefer a nonsmoker, no active alcoholics, and no bigots (sexism, racism,
homophobia, etc.). We have to be compatible in terms of core values so if you support the right wing agenda for our country we aren't going to be a match. I'm also not a fan of hunting for sport, Nascar, or ATVs in wilderness, but I am flexible on most other things and don't expect I will share all of my partners activities.

By the way, I'm passionate about most things...could you tell. But, I have a tender heart and a very gentle and feminine side. I hold strong views but respect others (unless they are expressing intolerance in which case, I am intolerant of intolerance,lol).

I'll close with a favorite lyric by Canadian folk-rocker Bruce
Cockburn : "These fragile bodies of touch and taste, this vibrant skin this hair like lace; spirits open to the thrust of grace; never a breath you can afford to waste when you're lovers in a dangerous time."
What I’m doing with my life
Currently working in retail, but looking for another job in my profession which is nonprofit management and public policy. Meanwhile I am working on being happy with where I am, learning to be more mindful and compassionate, and practicing opening my heart more fully.
I’m really good at
being emotionally intimate and maintaining connections; conversation; anything using my brain; cooking vegetarian; gardening
The first things people usually notice about me
My smile, my eyes, my youthful appearance (I look about 10 years younger than I am), my outgoing personality, wit and intelligence.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Favorite movies include "Dr. Zhivago", "American Beauty", "Harold and Maude", "King of Hearts", "As Good as it Gets", "Food Inc" and "Fahrenheit 911".

Favorite musicians include Bruce Cockburn, U2, Lucinda Williams, REM, Joni Mitchell, Rickie Lee Jones, Ani Di Franco, the Indigo Girls, Sting/the Police, various Bluegrass Artists, Stevie Ray Vaughn, Albert King and other Blues musicians.
The six things I could never do without
time spent in wilderness
my dogs
time alone
my computer (keeps me connected to people)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
how to make American democracy work for the people, how to save the planet, how to love more fully, how to meaningfully engage in community and in politics, and pondering what I am meant to be doing with my life.
On a typical Friday night I am
Having dinner with a friend, staying home reading a book and cuddling with the dog (prefer that to include a significant other I'm cuddling with), or watching a movie.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
When I'm by myself I watch more television than I think an educated person should.
You should message me if
If you are intelligent, witty, open-minded and a progressive and are enamored with my profile (lol).

You should also not currently smoke (or you should be in the process of stopping), not use drugs or drink excessively, and not have a criminal conviction (unless it is for trespassing during a civil disobedience, in which case you get extra points, lol).