41Bayfield, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I first came to OKCupid around 2007 or 08 to take and make quizzes. I guess that's not a thing here anymore.
Thirteen year old son, a daughter that's eight years old, and have been married for seventeen years.

I teach high school music (band and chorus). I'm not a particularly gifted musician, but I think I'm a pretty good teacher.

I enjoy outdoors activities, like kayaking, hiking and running, and especially swimming. I enjoy drawing (though not too skilled) and playing pen and paper role playing games as well as computer or video games. I watch a lot of science fiction and Fantasy. Raising my kids is a full time commitment during what used to be considered my "free" time.

Of course I love my wife and kids, and wish for more closeness and time with both. I end up spending a lot of time with activities at school. I'm Catholic, but not practicing or going to mass.

I can be outgoing in the right situation, but bars and parties are weird for me. I tend to be quiet at those. I appear extroverted, but people can be exhausting.

I am procrastinator, untidy, and sardonic
What I’m doing with my life
I first came to OKCupid around 2007 or 08 to take and make quizzes. I guess that's not a thing here anymore.
In 2005, we took a chance and relocated from a comfortable home and jobs in Albuquerque so that I could be a high school music director. We built a new house and home here in Southwestern Colorado. The decision to move back to Colorado was the right thing-- in my case, it is coming home.

The music program at my school began to really take off since I came here. It has grown five times in size and is regularly competitive at the State level. I've been named teacher of the year twice, although I'm not sure what the criteria has been for those awards.

I am trying to shake the habit of laziness that I've acquired over the years. That means doing productive things as well as more active things to exercise. I'm trying to lose a few more pounds and eat better as well. My FitBit helped me lose some weight, and I'm sticking with it. It seems that as I left the 20's, my metabolism doesn't allow me to eat whatever I want anymore. Now in my 40's, it's even worse.
I’m really good at
I've got a reasonably good bullshit detector. I also have been known to spout some bullshit of my own.
The first things people usually notice about me
I talk too much.

Or type too much.

And I'm a freakin' geek.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
A. Terry Pratchett books, all of them. Fantasy and sci-fi genre books, including Harry Potter series, Harry Turtledove (alternate timeline), Anne McCaffrey, and Astronomy non-fiction.

I also love Tabletop Roleplaying Games. Yeah, Dungeons and Dragons. I read those books for fun. I need an adult gaming group.

B. Sci-Fi and Fantasy again, especially the Lord of the Rings and Star Wars Trilogies. We don't have satellite or cable TV, but own DVD's of Stargate, Star Trek,, TNG, DS9, Battlestar Galactica, Veronica Mars, House, Lost, M*A*S*H, The Office, and most especially THE WEST WING. Other shows include LOST, Heroes, 24, FIREFLY, or anything Trek or StarWars.

C. Honestly, I get so much music in my job, I don't listen to much on the radio. On my IPod or phone are a LOT of soundtracks. If not that, pretty mainstream artists like 90's rock bands, maybe some old big band jazz, or some new artists I don't know about. Very vanilla, but a wide variety of styles. What I really listen to are podcasts about politics, lifestyle, design, and astronomy. 99% Invisible, Professional Left, Rachel Maddow, Astronomy Cast, Mission Long (Star Trek) t, WTF, The Cracked Podcast. Many others.

When my students ask me what's on my iPod or what I'm listening to right now, that is the answer.

D. I love cheese. That may have a lot to do with the whole gaining weight/losing conditioning thing.
Six things I could never do without
1. A book -- any book -- to fall asleep to. (If I can't read something, I canNOT fall asleep, no matter how tired.)
2. Internet Access (Currently the only connection to the outside world.)
3. Sex. Never enough, in or out of married life.
4. Podcasts (for driving in the car.)
5. My iPod or phone to listen to said podcasts or occasional music.
6. I'm a simple man. That's it.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Sex. That's not to say I'm a perv... I just think about it a lot.

If not that, I'm probably thinking about a movie or book I read or saw recently.

Politics, and how much hope I once had for the Obama administration. I hope I didn't make a mistake-- but like I told my students, nothing is guaranteed. But I do NOT regret voting for him. He's still a helluvalot better than his successor.

I am not sure what's gonna happen under President Donald Trump, but I will be watching very closely.

Also, thinking about tasks I am procrastinating on, either home or work related. In the summertime, I am constantly under siege with the need to write marching band music and choreography-- and I always put it off.
On a typical Friday night I am
Hahah, good one. I wrote this profile on a Friday night, so I guess that answers that question.

In the fall, I'm with my band at the football game.

The rest of the year, I would *LOVE* to have a gaming group to hang with, but around here there's not much of a gaming community.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I am a recovering Online Gaming addict.

Sortof. It's in my past, but it still defines me to an extent. It was not terrible, but it was not good either.
You should message me if
I first came to OKCupid around 2007 or 08 to take and make quizzes. I guess that's not a thing here anymore.

You are on OKCupid for the cool tests, **OR** If you are interested in friendship. I'm married, and I've found my partner. It's not perfect, but it's important.

However, I enjoy meeting and knowing new people because it enriches one's life.
The two of us