67 Saugerties, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
This profile is so old...

I believe that anything worth doing is worth doing well, and I often absorb myself in things that interest me. From a very young age, I have always been involved in some form of art, or make whatever I do a form of art in itself, some of it I feel is good, some of it I'm not so pleased with.
Travel: I have traveled some, mostly in country and Islands south, but I have nothing to boast here, nor do I care to. I directed that excessive expense towards the reality of a Conservatory education for my daughter. I'm happy! I feel there is nothing more parentally rewarding than offering this, and I am very happy for the life it has opened to her.
I am sincere and introspective, I know my successes as well as my failures, yet am always optimistic. I spend most of my free time hiking in the mountains alone, early in the morning, enjoying and observing nature, while photographing landscapes that few have ever experienced in person.
I don’t pay attention to sports, other than the Olympics. I know nothing about teams, or when sports seasons start or end. I dislike the commercialism of sports in any form. I prefer sports where one competes against one’s self. I admire climbers on a 300 foot wall of rock, people who bike regularly or long distances, as well as people who survive.
I would like to find someone who can find some interest in my profile, even humor. I am surely not for everyone, but hopefully for someone, and I would like to find that special person. I am not limited to a specific area in this pursuit, but I feel that axis should traverse the Catskill and ADK mountains.
I am clearly an outdoors person, I enjoy a leisurely walk through the woods with someone on a nice afternoon, but I also hike alone, regularly…often carrying a full back pack loaded with photography gear. Down pouring rain is not a reason for me to stay home, it’s a reason to be out in it, as are all extreme conditions. I have also spent many years doing deep forest camping alone in the Adirondacks during off season. I'm a mild survivalist of sorts, who ocean kayaks, canoes, and camps out alone in minimalist style. I have rarely missed a weekend of hiking in the Catskills this past year, and don't plan to change that over this winter. I've become more and more involved in it over the last 40 yeas, and it's probably not going away. It would be nice if you would like to be involved in it as well, but understandably, it takes a little time to become accustomed to this level of exertion. On the other extreme, I love Boston, New York, and small towns in between. I love to explore quaint villages and out of the way places.
I enjoy friends and family too, although my family is small and dispersed. I have a daughter who has always been a very special person in my life, and I support her in any way she needs.
I am optimistic by nature, with a cup that is always overflowing, and known to sometimes make a mess of me during moments of blind hope. I've learned to hold back, but dislike it. I honestly prefer the mess that overly optimistic thinking sometimes brings.
I'm Left handed, Left brained, and flexible enough to enjoy both side of any coin…. I am very concerned about fitness and health, and I am looking for someone of the same thinking. I am 5' 9", currently 156 pounds. I weigh less than I weighed in High School. I know that this isn't possible for everyone, but I'm looking for someone who is at least successful in being fit.

Thank you for reading.
What I’m doing with my life
Mostly, I'am constantly evolving in my creative interests, always in transition of some kind, always striving to exceed whatever I’ve done in the past. Landscape Photography has always been a passion in my life, and has become my central focus of creativity. Evolving this focus into a Fine Art form consumes much of my time and energy.... So this is what I'm usually doing.
I’m really good at
Photography, a variety of Graphic Arts and design, as well as anything from oil painting to fine woodworking. Over the years I also have mastered all forms of household repair, remodeling, blueprints, building and codes, and have become a highly experienced Do It Yourself type. I tend to get into things whole heartedly, to some excess I guess....
When face to face, I'm also a good and honest communicator, although it takes me awhile to reach a level of comfort sometimes, but not always.
The first things people usually notice about me
I'm not sure...I don't think they notice much of anything in particular.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I don't often go to movies or shows, but I am open to a variety of tastes. I like a variety of music from Classical, Folk, Indian and Jazz, but my center has been more Hard Core, and into things like Nine Inch Nails, Steve Vai, Hendrix, and a list of others. For the most part, I listen privately, I understand that this is another part of me that is not for everyone.
I like most foods, and like to experiment, but day to day I like to eat healthy or not at all. This doesn't mean that I don't seek finer things in dining. Excellent French Cuisine is my favorite, but I also enjoy a list of others. Before I sold my house, I was heavily into smoking (on a grill) and preserving, canning and pickling foods.
The six things I could never do without
I can do without a lot of things when necessary. However, I could never do without my daughter. I could never do without the beauty of nature, or the willingness to participate in it as one. I don't want to go without someone to share life with, but I also recognize that it may turn out differently. There are very few, if any, people my age hiking over mountains.... Whats with that? For me the choice is clear, I know where I belong, and I hope to find you there - or near there.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Transition: Where I might end up living; Changing my life completely; The value of our currency; Divesting myself of dollar related instruments; Prospering in a Crash; Surviving; Countries with solid economies; My Daughter; A Contrarian perspective; Underground; Keeping a cautious hand in an unsafe market.
On a typical Friday night I am
Usually sleeping by 9:00. I'm always up at 4 in the morning, sometimes in the mountains watching the sun rise.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
anything, just ask...
You should message me if
You are fit and healthy.
You are active outdoors, or enjoy nature.
You wake up early in the morning and want to do something.
You are Creative, or not
Or, you are only some of the above, and are curious enough.