53 Portland, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I am hardworking, politically active and left wing, culturally well informed, well traveled, athletic, humorous and extremely curious about the world, human history and human society. I consider my life to be a process of learning that will continue as long as I live. Most recently I have learned to hula hoop and ride a unicyle, proof of my earnest sobriety. I have worked in several professions and have lived and traveled around the world. These experiences, as well as my education and my fatherhood of a lovely daughter are what have formed me. Although my work plants me solidly in the middle of "the system" or "the establishment" or whatever you choose to call the world of government and law, I believe that in many ways I have the soul of an artist. I am a writer who has been published in prestigious journals, a DJ and an amateur musicologist of some depth. I am also very experienced working with my hands and can fix machines and build structures from wood. I have even had significant success growing organic vegetables. It can probably be said that my conventional side is mirrored by my unconventional side. Love me or not, I am not a forgettable character

"This time tomorrow, where will we be,
On a spaceship somewhere sailing across an empty sea.
This time tomorrow, What will we know?
Will we still be here watching an in-flight movie show?

I'll leave the sun behind me,
And I'll watch the clouds as they sadly pass me by.
Seven miles below me,
I can see the world and it ain't so big at all."

Ray Davies
What I’m doing with my life
Raising my daughter and saving the world.
I’m really good at
I get a lot of credit for my skills as a writer. Other than that, all I will say is that I do a lot of things whether I am good at them or not.
The first things people usually notice about me
Gregarious, humorous, bold, confident, curious. I never intend to be a bull in a china shop, but I suspect that my presence in a room does not need to be announced. I would hope that if my daughter is present, people would quickly pick up on my devotion to her.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I am what would broadly be described as an intellectual or a culteratus. So it follows that I like the same books and movies that most smart, educated people like. I suppose I could say that my cinematic interest tends toward "drama" and most of what I read is contemporary fiction, preferably English because I appreciate their stewardship and finesse of my native tongue. The only television I watch is Portlandia and the adult serials like The Sopranos or The Wire. I also watch Downton Abbey because my angel of a daughter loves it.

Music? I have about 5000 vinyl record albums, overwhelmingly American music from the 1920's through the 1970's including blues, jazz, psychedelic rock, soul, funk and disco. As for contemporary stuff, I am kind of illiterate but I do love to attend Pickathon as much for the family vibe as for the tunes.

Food? Mediterranean generally speaking. I eat fresh greens with every meal. I am not as young as I used to be and things like careful diet and yoga go a long way to maintaining the female interest in seeing me without my clothes on. Bit blunt on that point, I realize, but honestly, who really cares about an aging guy who is letting himself go to hell?
The six things I could never do without
1. My daughter.
2. Love, including erotic love.
3. Great friends.
4. Great conversation.
5. Music.
6. "The Great Outdoors."
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Not screwing up my daughter's life. That is a lot more fun than it sounds because it motivates me to be supportive and adventurous with her.
On a typical Friday night I am
Every other Friday I have my daughter and often we join other families for dinners after which the kids and adults can spend time with their peers. The Fridays on which I don't have her come at the end of my week with her and I am often pretty tired. I watch a lot of movies on Friday night and then try to get enough sleep so I can feel great at Saturday morning yoga.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Ironic question because to answer it is to invade one's own privacy...

I suppose that it would be "private" to reveal that I take sex pretty seriously. Obviously it is hard to quarrel with a spontaneous drunken romp here and again, but over the decades I have discovered that sex executed with real intentionality, intimacy and intensity is more or less the ne plus ultra of the adult mortal experience. I remember being clued for the first time when I was about 21 and telling all my friends, "I think I finally realize why sex is such a big deal." It really is. Such a brilliant evolutionary gift. Well worth exploring it for what it can be.
You should message me if
As far as a match is concerned, I am looking for a woman with an open mind and interests as broad as my own. If she has traveled and lived around the world, so much the better. Intellectual curiosity, a wicked sense of humor, strong social conscience and interest in outdoor sports would also be very attractive qualities. Regardless of how she spends her time, I think it would be best if she had the "soul of an artist" as well. And I suppose it wouldn't hurt if she shared some qualities with my ex-wife because, for what it is worth, she is one of my best friends.
Ultimately I find it hard to describe a potential match in great detail because my mind is very open on that subject and I think that I will know her when I see her. Or receive from her an intriguing e-mail...