37 Medford, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Professoring in Cambridge. Teaching, research, traveling, and enjoying life both in the city and all over New England with family and friends. I'm from a small town in CT, but have lived most of my adult life around Boston. Looking forward to trips to Australia and New Zealand this summer, as well as camping in Maine... lately life has been a nonstop adventure, and its one that's more fun to share.
What I’m doing with my life
I study how microbe evolution relates to planetary history and climate change, and what the Earth was like billions of years ago.
I’m really good at
Super Science. Public speaking. Cooking. Painting without using that blue tape. Throwing together weekend adventures. Mario Kart.
The first things people usually notice about me
Probably that if I'm outside, I'm wearing sunglasses. I have very pale blue eyes and would rather not be squinting all the time. I think this also contributes to my red-eye photo propensity.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Lots to write here. I love reading but find I have less time for it these days. Mark Twain, HG Wells, Bernard Cornwell, Edgar Rice Burroughs, are some of my favorites, and I'm a big Tolkein fan. I also just finished Moby Dick and loved it. That is probably my favorite classic novel.

I like all kinds of movies, especially anything retro or classic. I love science fiction and fantasy, but I am very picky about it. I'd rather watch Roger Corman than Michael Bay. Trash Night at the Brattle is amazing. As far as TV, I was a PBS kid, and still love to have Ken Burns on in the background. I'm so far behind on TV shows I'd love to watch, I know I'll never catch up. Supernatural, Star Trek (anything pre-Voyager), Hell on Wheels...I'm currently watching Rick and Morty and Daredevil. I'll never get tired of watching Ancient Aliens or any show where they almost catch Bigfoot but he manages to slip away again!

Home baked pies, seafood (especially oysters), and anything french/Cajun. Tuna tartare is a new favorite. Local bakeries. Friendly's peanut butter cup sundaes. I enjoy wine, scotch or cocktails more than beer, unless its something solid like an Ipswich oatmeal stout.
The six things I could never do without
My Eagle's Nest Hammock
Those rotisserie chickens you buy ready to eat from the grocery store
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How incredibly old, complex, and amazing life and the planet is, and how to communicate this awe to both students and the public. Historical processes and path-dependence. If there is a selfish motive to all the legos I buy my 5-year old nephew...
On a typical Friday night I am
Having dinner with friends, watching a movie, or starting a weekend trip someplace.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I don't actually live where my profile says, but I spend most of my time in Cambridgeville. I'm currently flipping a house, so who knows after that!

I am immune to seasickness but I can't read in the car or go on the teacups at the fair.

I am the only adult I know with perfect vision. Given how much time I spend staring at computer screens this is a near-miracle.
You should message me if
you are passionate about your career and interests, and understand those demands in others as well, yet value a healthy work/life balance. Curiosity, independence, a sense of humor, and a taste for adventure are important to me. You want to spend a day at a museum or out in the countryside, and a night outside by a fire or inside with a movie.