31 Melbourne, Australia
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Hey there!

Thanks for dropping by,

I'm fairly introverted so I'm going to have a good write, hope you enjoy a read...

As an introduction, I'm a straight forward person who likes having close friends and having great experiences with them. I'm happy if I have work that I can enjoy going to which has a positive impact on folks.

The main problem in my life is I've been so focused on work I haven't really thought about finding someone to share life with thus here I am taking a leap of faith into the world of dating.

I'm basically an INFJ chap who thinks life is a constant work in progress...

As a result I've been in investment banking, on the trading floor, been in a top management training programme, commercial banking, private banking and fund management. I took a bit of time off to try out management consulting and auditing and spent a bit of time in India and Bangladesh doing social work and microfinance. It's been mostly businessey financey stuff.

These days I've moved away from those things towards something a bit shorter on the hours after spending 7 years working 15 to 18 hour days. I've always been a big fan of tech and what's possible even though I'm a commerce grad so I pivoted into a role where I now run the personal finance product and deals product (think Groupon) in a local bank. The hours are much better and I finally have time to have a life.

Other things you might be interested in knowing,

I've been back in Singapore since 2010 after spending a good 7 odd years in Australia based mostly out of Sydney. I really love the value system I picked up there based around a fair go and generally being able to meet friends who didn't really care what my background, grades or school were.

I've traveled a good bunch around the world, my favourite so far has been New York, what a vibrant city!

I used to enjoy doing social work both locally and overseas but these days I'm pretty busy and enjoy more peaceful weekends as of late. I may get back into it some day.

I am also an avid musician and singer, I used to be in a band but these days I busk when I feel like it and just play my guitar when I have the spare time. I'm a fan of Eric Clapton, Jason Mraz and folks similar to them. Spotify's new discover feature is amazing, been picking up a lot of new stuff for my playlist and am planning to get out and busk again when the haze clears (Sep 2015)

I used to draw loads as a kid and still enjoy doing it from time to time, I enjoy drawing people.

For relaxation these days I spend my time reading books about taking on life after 30 (it's been a reflective year).

I also enjoy a good movie (except horror... I'd rather play a horror game with friends... in the dark).

I really like a good video game too, a good story or really good competitive gameplay are things I enjoy most.

I don't watch TV as much these days due to the reading but I loved Top Gear, the three gents are hilarious and are the only folks who can make me laugh out loud consistently.

On the other end of the spectrum, I enjoy winding down with a good alcohol run on a Friday or Saturday night with heavy Karaoke, dancing or both.

I wouldn't say I'm a huge foodie but I do enjoy eating good food and have tried most of the mee pok in Singapore. I'm a big fan of our local stuff but I can appreciate the more fancy cuisines, I love having a good steak after the gym.

As a sportsman I used to enjoy basketball a great deal but I tore most of my meniscus in my left knee playing competitively in college so I stick mostly to the gym these days. I also enjoy water sports as I don't need my left knee for those haha...
What I’m doing with my life
I do digital banking work in a local bank, we're focused mostly on developing countries and I focus largely on product development and making sure our products are cool and fun to use.

In my career I have served in the army and worked in various areas of investment and corporate banking as well as private banking.

Finished my honours thesis in non-profit organisations at the University of Sydney.

I finished another thesis, did internships with philanthropy organisations and micro-finance firms and finished off my masters of science in wealth management under Yale, the Swiss Finance Institute and SMU Singapore
I’m really good at
- Singing apparently
- Solving business problems
- Building products
- Bankery stuff
- Video games
- Getting organised
- Being focused
- Helping folks figure things out
- Techie/ Futurey stuff
- Studying new things
- Listening
The first things people usually notice about me
Intense at work. Quiet at social events. Sings and Dances when has alochol in him. Really nice once you get to know him.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
My Favourite Books: Anything inspirational and innovative

The Pathfinder, The Seven Habits of Highly Effective People, How to Win Friends and Influence People, Tuesdays with Morrie, Do What You Are (Tieger), Dreams from My Father (Obama), The Pin-Striped Prison (Pryor), Wisdom (Zuckerman), The Secret (Byrne), What would Google do? (Jarvis), The Fortune at the Bottom of the Pyramid ((Prahalad), Matilda, The Notebook, Memoirs of a Geisha, James and the Giant Peach, Charlie and the Chocolate Factory, Charlotte's Web, Julius Caesar.

My Favourite Movies: I like Indie films, comedies, love stories, action movies and movies that break boundaries in creativity or really make you think.

The Pacific, Band of Brothers, Juno, The Black Balloon, My Sassy Girl, Little Miss Sunshine, Dan in Real Life, The Notebook, Terminator 2, The Matrix, Star Wars Episode 1 and 4, Dr. Strangelove, Pulp Fiction, Resrvior Dogs, Kill Bill Vol 1 and 2, Lock Stock & Two Smoking Barrels, Snatch, Wisdom.

My favorite TV shows: Top Gear, Breaking Bad, It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia, The Big Bang Theory,

My Favourite Video Games: Mostly to do with shooting stuff or surviving horror stuff.

My Favourite Food: Anything hot and spicy, Meepok, Kway Teow, Singapore food, Malaysian food, chinese food, a good steak
The six things I could never do without
1. A good computer with access to the internet,
2. Books
3. Family
4. Friends
5. Music
6. Intellectual stimulation
I spend a lot of time thinking about
the future... I think life is short and thus requires lots of planning and goal setting.
On a typical Friday night I am
Spending time with a small group of friends - fooding or drinking, or playing my guitar, watching a movie, or just chilling out at home.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Nothing much is private about me really
You should message me if
You like, I'll try my best to answer