47Bellingham, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Much like my life, this profile is a work in progress.

About me:
I grew up in Florida, but never felt that I belong. I moved to the Pacific Northwest in 1999, and never looked back.

I am an active person, biking for transportation, getting out in the woods when I can (anytime of year), and participating in various sporting endeavors.

I love being in the kitchen, and am most happy being prep boy, but I will happily cook as well. I place a high importance on food and believe that our health is dependent on what we put into our mouths. I have been vegan/vegetarian for most of these past fifteen years, but will eat some meat from time to time, depending on how my body is feeling. While I do not tell people how they should eat, I will challenge people about the choices they make.

While I do enjoy social activities, I prefer smaller, quieter settings more and more. I enjoy observing people and have come to understand that my conversations with people will often be awkward. The words in my head often do not come out coherently, but that's ok.
What I’m doing with my life
I work in the food service industry, in a busy cafe/deli. I feel very fortunate to work for a business that I feel good about and I get to work with great people. 

Outside of work, my roommates and I are raising their two sons part time. We have turned our yard into an urban homestead. Most of the yard has been turned into garden space and there are a number of fruit trees and plants that are beginning to mature and produce. I love being able to preserve and store food grown in the garden to enjoy during the winter months.

I gave away my automobile a few years ago and thoroughly enjoy biking for transportation. Coming up with ways to haul furniture and bales of straw with a trailer and a bike makes me happy. Being able to show the boys that we don't need our cars as much as we think we do is important to me. 
I’m really good at
...being prep boy in the kitchen; dishes, prepping veggies, keeping the kitchen organized and well stocked. I am very athletic with strong endurance, great at knowing how to get from point A to point B, able to go with the flow and will probably kick your ass in air hockey.
I also seem to be able to get along with most people, although that is sometimes not a good thing. And I seem to be able to curse with the best of them, so beware.
The first things people usually notice about me
My tall, lanky frame and striking blue eyes, as long as I don't have my glasses on at the time.

If I don't have my hair contained, then that would be the answer.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Music- Beirut, Cure, First Aid Kit, MC Solar, The Knife, CocoRosie, Built To Spill, Kristin Hersh, Pixies, Ministry, Wax Tailor, Violent Femmes, The Smiths, The The, Interpol, Afghan Whigs, Joy Division, Iron and Wine, Radiohead, the Roots, New Model Army, TV on the Radio, Brazillian Girls, Atmosphere, Nine Inch Nails, Death Cab for Cutie, James, KRS One, U2, Marvin Gaye, Led Zepplin, florence and the machine, ...

Movies- I enjoy most types of movies, but have a hard time remembering titles. A few that come to mind are Crash, Sunshine State, Garden State, Some Kind of Wonderful, ...

Nature and science documentaries are wonderful, and I love hanging out with the kids watching them.

TV- I have lived without cable for quite some time, but with the internet, I have been able to watch more series, without the annoying commercials. Freaks and Geeks, Breaking Bad, Six Feet Under, M.A.S.H., Simpsons, South Park, Lie To Me, the various Star Trek series, Dr Who, ...

Books- I read nonfiction almost exclusively for years, mostly dealing with history and politics. I also have enjoyed books by Vonnegut, Palahnuik, Kingsolver, Tom Robbins, Maya Angelou, Zora Neal Hurston, Toni Morrison and others that I don't recall at the moment.

Food- I am no longer vegetarian, but still mostly eat that way, enjoying home cooked meals that take time to prepare.
Six things I could never do without
Good food and drinks, bikes, the outside world, music, my chosen family (pets included), and challenges in life.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Way more than I should. I often wish I could turn my brain off, but here are the main topics floating around in there, in no particular order.

My family, my work, beer, biking, food (this should really be first), women, humanity and it's stupidity, weather, sports, all the things I need to do around the house, all the things I haven't done around the house, do I have time to take the dog on a long walk, what to write for these questions, where I want to ride to next... and women.
On a typical Friday night I am
There are few typical Friday nights, but a walk around town with drinks, good conversation and great company would be the ideal.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I prefer to work in the yard in a short, plaid skirt.
You should message me if
what I have to offer seems at all interesting to you. Through conversation we can see what might occur.

you enjoy going for long walks, either in the woods or through an urban setting, conversing, laughing and just enjoying life.

you like to enjoy a tasty meal, whether at home or out and about.

you want to bike to various breweries and distillers in the region.

you like to hang out in the garden, then go for a walk with the dog.

you enjoy tasty beers.
The two of us