51Anchorage, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm just a corny guy who is tired of cracking jokes for the furniture. I live alone in Anchorage, Alaska, where I moved to in 2003. I was in Asheville, NC, for many years and after three watershed trips to Alaska within six months I was hooked and just had to move here. I sold everything I didn't need and packed up the rest in my Blazer and cargo trailer and hauled myself 4500 miles in eight days to Alaska.

I love it here! My decision to relocate has no remorse! I am more suited to the cold anyway and cant even consider returning to a warmer climate. I melt too easy! I'll visit, but the beauty and rugged land of Alaska will always be home now.

As I said, I am a single man. Having never married and deciding to let fate decide when my future takes turns for the best, I am a bit tired of waiting for someone special to show up. So I am hoping to find a partner sometime soon who will enjoy me as a friend and dedicated partner in many things that people do. I had hoped to have children by now, but even though I still do it's not a deal breaker if I cant. I love kids and tend to bond with them very fast and hard. So if you have kids... Lets get to know each other for a while first. I like someone who can enjoy lots of stuff with me.... I am a scifi nut and I still cling to my interest in Anime and other nerdy things. I like a girl who can act like a eight year old with me when its fun and realize when its time to be sensible and serious.

I'm also a fan of Aces Hockey and Nascar. While I love to go scream and yell my week's frustrations out at the Hockey games and enjoy following my favorite drivers in Nascar, I HAVE A CLUE when to leave it all and pay attention to someone I care about. And I'd never choose a night of sports over a night with a girl! My Mom didn't raise a idiot :)

I don't drink by preference and never smoke. Going to bars and night clubs is not a natural thing to me so I tend to stay away. Which harms my chances to really meet the kind of fun women I'd like to meet. So I am looking on the Internet and hope someone will see a diamond in this lump of coal :)

I have been diagnosed with a potentially life changing A1C Blood Sugar level and am currently changing my eating habits drastically... Looking for healthier choices and better eating habits. Hoping the near future shows a lower A1C level soon! And I'll be skinny again! :)

I'm dedicated to this change in my lifestyle and eating habits so I want to meet people who enjoy nurturing this in their friends. And I want to meet a girl who values positive change in habits and will root for me to keep it up. I was very athletic in my past and luckily that was a positive thing in my current dilemma that will help me recover a better future.

Update: I've lost 34 pounds in the two months since the New Year! I've taken up my belt two notches and will need new pants soon :)

Good News!!! My A1C has dropped to 5.8! Blood Sugar has gone from 168 to 91!!! My doctor says I have significantly helped my future with my new lifestyle and eating habits. Still loosing weight and finally below 200! :)

I am truthful, reliable, and a really corny guy
What I’m doing with my life
Settled in Alaska and working for a great company. I am a Air Cargo Specialist as well as a CDL Driver for one of Alaska's major Logistics companies.

Looking for someone special, but also just trying to find a few friends I can be myself with. Thinking about learning more about digital photography for my interest in experiencing all Alaska has to offer. I enjoy hiking and getting out in secluded places.
I’m really good at
I am good at tedious tasks with nearly anal results. Sounds bad, huh? Actually, I can be quite good at completing important tasks with no mistakes and high attention to detail.

I am also pretty good at being a dork and joking around. I'm not always the funniest guy, but I'm funny enough for me.
The first things people usually notice about me
My dedication to whatever I am doing. I'm fairly ordinary in a physical sense. Not God's gift to women so why would I expect a woman to "notice" me without taking a good look? :)
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
A) In my Google Books library my current addiction is Star Trek stories. Also the series of books by James S.A. Corey about the SciFi show The Expanse.

Some of my favorite books read include; the Golden Compass trilogy, Dune series, Douglas Adams' Hitchhiker Guide to the Galaxy series, Anne McCaffrey's Dragon Riders of Pern books. I love Tom Clancy books about Jack Ryan. I spend a lot of time listening to books on tape while doing other things.

B) I am a movie fanatic. Not that I can truly be considered a expert. I just love the big movie room experience and all that comes with it. My Regal Crown Club status gets me gasps of awe from the box office people. Some of my favorite movies are all of the Marvel characters, the Kick Ass movies. The Matrix Trilogy, Serenity, most all Japanese Animation, Jackie Chan movies, Alien, I like a wide variety of movies. I like sci-fi/fantasy, action, drama, comedy, and I'll even go see a chick flick. Hey, I saw Because I Said So and Chasing Liberty. What can I say... So I am a Mandy Moore fan! The again that isn't saying much since I am a Jenna Coleman, Scarlett Johansson, and Emilia Clarke fan. :p Horror is probably the only genre I choose to avoid. It just doesn't do anything for me.

Also... I watch TV like most folks. I have several shows that I DVR and watch when I can. BBC America, Comedy Central, and SciFi Channels are favorites. I am a sucker for the Science Channel and mostly the Space and Mars topics. I admit I am a fan of South Park so if that offends you... oops ^_^

C) I am a recent convert to the Steampunk genre of music (also known as Industrial Goth), Rock & Roll! Metal (some), Jazz, Alternative, House/Electronic, Japanese Pop/Rock.

D) American, Mexican, Japanese Teriyaki Beef/Chicken, Mongolian BBQ, and Taco Bell! :)
Six things I could never do without
love, honesty, kindness, sex, big breasts, and laughing (Note: Items 4 and 5 are supposed to be funny! I like women who aren't easily offended by cheeky humor :p)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
My future and where I should go from here
On a typical Friday night I am
Either home watching cable and chatting with friends online or out having dinner with real friends and doing something fun. I like to go to Aces games and anything fun. I also see plenty of movies usually at the Bear Tooth, but wherever.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm not that appealing to most people, but I don't care. I am just me and figure there are plenty of people out there who can like me for who I am. I guess the only demon I suffer from is fear of being alone for the rest of my life.

I play a cute rusty robot dog character on the popular social internet world of Second Life. If that interests you, let me know and I'll tell you who I am.
You should message me if
Please say hi if you would enjoy getting to know me... If you would like to get together for real or just chat online... I'd be happy to talk to anyone as long as it's not for mind games.

I love to meet people for fun and friendship! I used to plan meet & greets for a local Yahoo Chatroom in Alaska. I'd like to get back into that again.
The two of us