45 Spring, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
My name is Alan, I have lived in Houston area for around nine years now. Prior to that I lived in Germany for a couple years. I love to be around people but I am also very comfortable being independent. I usually workout six days a week. I recently started to diversify my workout routine to include yoga and Kenpo alongside the regular running and strength training. I'm not obsessive about it though.

I like to travel and it's my goal to visit every state. Having lived in Germany for over two years I've visited most of the European countries. I think Japan is next after I get back from Hawaii.

I definitely would like a women that loves to travel the world and broaden her horizon. When traveling I'm into museums and visiting the sites but I love to find the hidden secrets and walking around a foreign country aimlessly. I've been lost many times and that's OK.

I'm also trying to unlock 100% on my OKC profile completion to satiate my obsessive compulsions.

I am sarcastic, laid back, and a geek
What I’m doing with my life
Taking it day-by-day. I love my job and I'm good at it. But when it's time to go I'm out the door. I work as an application developer for a popular cable TV network.
I’m really good at
Computers but I'm not the computer guy.
The first things people usually notice about me
I'm quiet. It would be a shame to let that stop you from getting to know me though.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Independent & Sci-Fi movies

It may be kind of a cliche, but, I like all types of music excepting maybe one. I usually find it hard to find people who like my type of music. Not because I'm so cool but because I can be out there.

Band: They Might Be Giants
Song: Sir Duke by Stevie Wonder
Genres: Ska (yes still), Punk

Currently I'm listening to Regina Spektor, Nellie McKay, Ting Tings, 3OH!3, Jay-Z, Sean Kingston, Beyonce, Keri Hilson, Michael Jackson (even before his death), Kid Cudi, Kings of Leon, Rancid, Bad Religion, Ciara, The Veronicas, and Cobra Starfish.

iPod is filled with music from the 40's to current. Really I'll listen to just about anything.

Def Poetry. I'm still waiting on a new season.
I'm a fan of comedies like Colbert Report and Daily Show.
I TiVo shows like Heroes, Lost, Doll House, and Flash Forward but it can take me months to actually watch them.

Les Miserables I've seen about ten different movie versions and have read the book multiple times.
A Young Lady's Illustrated Primer (AKA The Diamond Age) by Neal Stephenson. I also like Snow Crash.
I can't sit here and say I'm a big reader but I do have a small collection of books to read in the next couple months. Including the new one from Neal Stephenson, and the latest by John Hodgeman.

I just started reading "When You Are Engulfed in Flames" by David Sedaris
The six things I could never do without
and three other things
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Where to go next on a vacation. Actually I don't always do a lot of planning. Last September I went to London and France. When I left the only thing I knew for certain was, I arrive in London and depart from Nice, France. Everything in between was decided the day before.
On a typical Friday night I am
Hanging out, playing pool, watching movies and just taking it easy.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm too good at keeping things private. I've tried multiple times writing something here and just can't do it.
You should message me if
You like what you've read and would like to meet. If you haven't posted a profile picture then I would hardly see the point. Looks aren't everything but at some point I'd like to see you.

Please don't ask for my email address in your first message unless you can show you're local.