IamBeckyBoop
39 Chicago, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
IamBeckyBoop
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Here's the abbreviated version:

Hi, I'm Rebecca. Not looking to hook-up. Looking for a relationship and eventually children. Single. Never married. No children. No arrest record. Emotionally well-balanced. Masters degree. Socially liberal. Love my family, friends and my career. Active. Enjoy red wine, craft beer. Swear like a sailor but know when to be appropriate. Communicate well. Love this city. One tattoo. Crossword puzzles. I'm warm, affectionate, compassionate and genuine and believe wholly in living with self-compassion, gratitude and love and imparting that to others.

Extended version:

I wanna blow liquid out my nose from laughing so hard with someone on a date. Can we make that happen, please?

Have any of you gentleman seen the movie "The Family Stone"? The father in that movie, played by Craig T. Nelson (I'm not partial to him one way or the other, he just happens to play the role), is the type of person I can see building a life together with. Just saying.

There's plenty of things to learn about me but the best way is to engage. Ask. Let's meet up. Ain't nothin' like the real thing, baby. Yeah, that's a song lyric for ya. :)

-I’ve never been married, don’t have children, don't have an arrest record, am not an addict and am emotionally well balanced...most of the time. ;)

-I have an Associates, two Bachelors and a Masters. I ain't the smartest duck in the room but I ain't the dumbest, either.

-I’m active in a variety of ways. I'll do shit with ya. Enough said.

-I’ve been told that I am very generous, kind, passionate, loyal, real, gregarious and approachable.

-I value conversation that resonates. I communicate very well…you should, too.

-I love this fuckin' city but lets be real, it's nice to do shit with someone.

-I support equal rights, yo.

-My family and friends are exceptionally important to me and I am very close to them. I don't think that's a given, despite what some people say in their profiles and it is important to mention.

--I can hang with “the boys” as easily as “the girls”. I'll cook with you, watch sports, or concerts, or go to museums, or read, or talk politics, or religion/lack there of with you and your family will like me. That's a good thing, no?

-I would never intentionally demean, hurt or insult anyone. It’s just not in my nature. But don’t back me into a corner.

-No, I’m not psychoanalyzing you, I DON'T want to be your therapist. I need an equal. A partner. A significant other.

-Hot tempers and arrogance make me want to vomit…on your shoe.

-I can be handy when I need to. In fact, today (11/28/15), I assembled an IKEA couch and a coffee table. I was pretty proud of myself. Now, I gotta go buy a TV. Just a 40 incher. Smart tv? No? Suggestions? Update: totally bought the Samsung 40 inch smart tv. It's the best!

-Music is a huge and very important part of my life. I am always searching for new tunes to indulge in.

-I’m flawed in a variety of ways and you won’t need to call me out on that. But, go ahead, feel free...see the one below.

-I do love a good, friendly, verbal spar.

-MBTI Type: ESFJ- The Caregiver

-I’m worth your time and lots of it.
What I’m doing with my life
Working as a Licensed Clinical Professional Counselor out of a group private practice doing individual and group therapy. I cannot express enough how IN LOVE I am with my career.
I’m really good at
Taking care of children, supporting others in need, being a mediator, building solid relationships, being genuine, listening, talking, loving, being empathic, being passionate, procrastinating, making people feel good about themselves, being loud, breaking cheap sunglasses, doing everything 5 years later than my peers, drinking ridiculous amounts of water, wearing flip flops until it snows...and maybe even then and self depricating humor.
The first things people usually notice about me
Smile? Hair? Eyes? I don't know. You tell me.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: I read for work mostly. Boring to most. I'd like to read for pleasure more.

Movies: I just watched Gremlins for the millionth time. Love that movie. :). Watched an adolescent favorite...BIG TROUBLE IN LITTLE CHINA! Yesss! Who's with me?! Halloween is my favorite horror and I enjoy most of them but, not in the "I frequent conventions" kind of way. Any action, psychological thriller, drama and some comedies. I'm not super into sci-fi or documentaries though I try to remain open minded and will watch anything with someone if they are passionate about it. I haven't been to a movie in about a year. Maybe a movie date at some point? Sounds fun!

Shows: Sons of Anarchy, Carnivale, Criminal Minds, Game of Thrones!

Music: Ahhhhhhh, music. I love music and my taste ranges very widely. I like music from Radiohead, Fleet Foxes, Andrew Bird, Journey, Eagles, Foreigner, Band of Horses, Coldplay, Maroon 5, Gotye, The Shins. I also enjoy a lot of new popular songs, 80's rock, 70's rock, 60's rock and even a little 50's for good measure. I like classical. I even like Dream Theater. I'm not too big a country fan but I'll listen every now and again. I just saw Porgy and Bess, too. Great show.

I do listen to some of the shows on NPR like This American Life, Radiolab, All Things Considered, Fresh Air.

Food: Another passion. I love Indian, Thai, Sushi, Mexican, African, Ethiopian, and brunch; I LOVE brunch among many others. I can't eat food that's too spicy and have apparently developed an intolerance to dairy. No more cheese or ice cream for me. Eh, whatever.
The six things I could never do without
Touch/affection, water (I'm a little obsessed about it...in a good way, I think), my walking/running shoes (since I did the 3 day/60 mile breast cancer walk I really just appreciate them), my stupid phone (yeah, yeah, I know), music, the work I do with my clients and, while I know they aren't "things" (you farkin' literal people), I can't live without my family/friends.

I also really appreciate:
My white noise maker and fan for sleep
Air conditioning
Nexium
Pictures of family and friends
Reminiscing
San Francisco
The mountains of Colorado
Michigan
The feeling I get after cleaning or organizing something
Warm Vanilla Sugar body spray
Intimacy
I spend a lot of time thinking about
-When the hell I'm going to get off this site for good.
-The fact that "I need a Sunday kind of love"..'nother song lyric
-What ever happened to leaving a little to the imagination, build up?
-Getting a second tattoo and a tiny stud piercing in my nose.
On a typical Friday night I am
Hanging out with my family or friends, mostly. Visiting with my nephew and niece. Dinner, movies or whatever someone throws my way.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
"If we knew each others secrets, what comforts we should find."
-John Churon Collins

I laugh at some gross humor. I don't know what to tell you.

I like to sit on the toilet (lid down), legs criss-cross and watch as my significant other shaves.
You should message me if
You feel there might be a connection, you are good at math, you think you can make me laugh, you can play a musical instrument, you want to serenade me, you can hold your own in a conversation, you know how to give a proper hug, you think you have something to teach me or I, you. :). Also, not to be difficult but, while I am perfectly happy dating someone in the suburbs, I don't see myself leaving the city in the near future.
More