34 West Lafayette, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I am a fun-loving, down-to-earth, and educated guy originally from the midwest, but have lived in Sydney, Ottawa, and Boston where I attended graduate school. As a Purdue graduate, I decided to get a taste of IU, so I returned to finish my Ed.S. in Mental Health Counseling.
What I’m doing with my life
I am a Mental Health Counselor with a particular affinity for Latin-American outreach and work with marginalized populations. I appreciate the ability to help people in any way I can. I know this sounds rather generic, but I recently practiced in a clinic that serves the community in all sorts of capacities as a not-for-profit. I certainly have had my struggles in life, and to this end I feel it is a worthwhile pursuit to use this knowledge to help those in need.
I’m really good at
- Baking

- Picking up new languages

- Technical stuff (studied computer science for a minute)

- Providing love and support to those who are close to my heart.

- Finding the humor in any situation.

- Accents and impressions!
The first things people usually notice about me
My (rather prominent) Punjabi nose.
I also tend to get approached by "randoms," as they tell me my eyes and smile appear warm and "non-threatening."
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I currently enjoy watching "Marvel's Agents of S.H.I.E.LD.," "Tyrant," and "Suits" when I can catch them. I find that recently, a number NetFlix Series have hooked me as well, such as "House of Cards" and "Daredevil." I truly don't get much time for TV, but
I also at times watch BBC World News, because I find that their broad coverage of world events is far more cohesive than US based news outlets.

Since childhood, I have always been interested in classic literature. I have explored the Sherlock Holmes series, Three Musketeers, many works of Edgar Allan Poe, and also books on philosophy, such as "The Prophet" by Kahlil Gibran. He is definitely one of my all-time favorite philosophers! Although I do enjoy reading, I tend to spend my free time with friends.

Musically, I tend to have an eclectic range of interests from rock, salsa, rap, and music in Hindi. Classic rock tends to be prevalent among these, as I enjoy The Beatles and The Police among many more.

Food I could go on and on about, it is certainly one of my greatest loves! I enjoy food from all cultures, but particularly spicy food! Locally, I like to visit The Uptown Cafe, Farm Bloomington, Esan Thai (honestly it is difficult to find bad Thai in this town), and FEAST Bloomington especially for their Salted Caramel Chocolate Mousse. Middle-Eastern and Italian food also hold a special place in my heart because, although they are not "spicy" in the traditional sense, they are replete with those spices which add flavor and heartiness to food. YUM!

Lastly, I had to mention DESSERT! I love chocolate, more than most women do in fact! I tend to try to incorporate chocolate into any dessert which I believe it will complement. I also sometimes have dessert before the main course, since I enjoy mixing it up sometimes.
The six things I could never do without
(Five, because I say so)
- Compassion and kindness
- Good food
- Intelligent people and social interaction with them (this counts as 2)
- Discovering the humor in myself and others.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
New activities I have not yet tried and formulating a plan of action to try them. As far as leisure, skydiving is my latest fixation. On the more personal level, I spend a lot of time thinking about how to better the lives of others through not only what I do, but helping affect change in our society on the whole.
On a typical Friday night I am
I would say chilling with friends, this could entail shenanigans at local bars, or a venture to the comedy club or even a night of sitting around and playing (bored?) board games.

I also still make time to engage in activity I have always enjoyed such as tennis, hiking, or my regular interval training regimen. It is Captain America themed, don't hate.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I tend to enjoy the act of cuddling, and often awake to find my arms awkwardly embracing a pillow.

Been bitten by a monkey recently? No? Yeeeah... you'll have to ask me about that one.
You should message me if
You are kind.

You are genuine and honest.

You are pleasantly quirky.

You don't take yourself too seriously.

International travel excites you.

You want to join me in hiking, tennis, or a day on the lake.

You believe in subverting traditional gender roles, now should the "man" always have to "make the first move?" Rather patriarchal, don't you think?