Ipaintsquares
33 Sitka, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Ipaintsquares
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Working in Alaska for the summer. Let's get a drink.

I put myself through university and grad school. I finally landed a fancy job and now I'm checking off my various goals while working hard and traveling around the western US from project to project. I'm a rolling stone, and I miss the moss, but thems the brakes I guess.
I'm seeking a partner to join me in this crazy lifestyle. Travel is listed on most people's profiles as something they do all the time, so let's go. Sell most of your stuff and hit the road with me.
I've always had a bit of a 'me against the world' attitude, but I'd prefer an 'us against the world' situation. In my opinion this society is weird and most people's goals and choices don't make any sense. I'm trying something a little different. I know I'm not the only one.
What I’m doing with my life
I am a traveling engineer. I move around the west coast and islands upgrading and building new air traffic facilities. It's pretty great.

I'm currently studying for the PE exam and trying to learn español. I guess I missed studying because I've been out of school for a couple years now, and I can't seem to stop picking up new things to figure out.

I'm working pretty ridiculous hours this summer, but I'm banking vacation time. After the PE I think I'm going to head south and see what's going on around Central America. Hence the Spanish lessons. Also, how does one actually backpack? I guess that's another thing I'm studying. It looks like people are doing it all the time, so it can't be that tricky, but the bulk of my traveling has been road trips in the states. I have to figure out what shots I'll need. It's a party.
I’m really good at
Problem solving.
Driving a manual.
Humility.
Observing. I'm a bit of a wallflower, and prefer not to be the center of attention. However, when I do happen to have the spotlight, I can publicly speak with the best of them.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: My all time favorite book is The Grapes of Wrath. Other favorites are Jesus' Son, High Fidelity, Geek Love, The Road, Welcome to the Monkey House, The Pearl, How to Win Friends and Influence People, Rant: An Oral Biography of Buster Casey, Harry F'n Potter, and Death by Black Hole.

Movies: Lost in Translation, Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind, Brooklyn, Shaun of the Dead, Zach and Miri, Goon, She's Out of My League, 40 Year Old Virgin, Signs, Dumb and Dumber, Basically any romantic comedy ever. Cedar Rapids was super funny.

Shows: Breaking Bad, True Detective, Silicon Valley, Orange is the New Black, 30 Rock, Community, Rick and Morty, Parks and Rec., Arrested Development, The Walking Dead, It's Always Sunny, The League, Fargo- holy shit, that's a good show.
I've never seen Game of Thrones, and at this point it's more fun to freak out the squares than to figure out what the hell a Lannister is and why I should give two shits.

Music: My favorite band is They Might Be Giants. The Cranberries. My guilty pleasure is top 40. Girl Talk is a lot of fun. The Organ, Beach House, Best Coast(!). Ben Folds, Regina Spektor, Sheryl Crow, Air, Fatboy Slim, 90's tunes. Secret Smile by Semisonic. Blonde on Blondes by Nada Surf. Karen Kilgariff.

Food: All of it. Where do I need to go to get the best tacos? I feel like Priscilla on the hunt for the perfect taco (Update: I may have found the perfect taco. Boca tacos y tequila in Tucson, AZ.). I'm also on the hunt for the greatest cheeseburger in town. Sushi, Carnitas burritos, Ban Mi Sandwiches, Grilled cheese.
I FINALLY tried phó. So as you know, I am now obsessed with phó. If you want to get some phó with me, I will buy you phó.

I leave the little sriracha cap unscrewed in the fridge.
The six things I could never do without
My keys, wallet, and phone.
My select and small group of friends.
Podcasts.
Good books.
Fooooooood.
Sleep.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Outer space.
Is there a more polite term for 'horse face?'
Mental math.
Efficiency.
Tiny houses. Sailboats.
I've never done improv, and I'm not huge fan, but I like the idea of 'Yes, And.'
I am seeking someone to Yes, And with me.
On a typical Friday night I am
Staying up a bit later in anticipation for the sleeping-in that shall follow.

Breakfast for dinner.
You should message me if
I'm new to town, and in the market for friends. It's a weird thing to be in your 30's and trying to meet people to hang out with. I'd love to be invited to a bbq. I'll bring the beer.
More