39Everett, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm a Celtic musician and dancer, originally from Boston, then spent 3 years in the San Francisco bay area, and have now been in Washington state for almost 3 years (Seattle and Everett).

I speak the Irish language and am currently teaching 3 classes for it in Seattle and Everett. I have a long-term dream of creating a non-profit Irish language and cultural organization in the greater Seattle area. Right now, though, I'm just teaching some classes, and some private lessons.

I am currently in a band, hoping to record soon, and eventually play local gigs and festivals. I play a Celtic harp, and am learning a few other instruments.

Since I moved to the west coast, I've gotten very hooked into dancing, especially same-sex partner dancing (ballroom, Latin dancing, Argentine Tango, Swing dancing (east, west, and Lindy), and other social dancing. I am VERY INTERESTED in finding someone queer to dance with. I can lead or follow in many dances, though I'm 5'2", so I can't lead people bigger than about 5'7". I tend to be better at following because I get more practice in it thanks to my height. ;)

I am a polyamorous lesbian. I see polyamory as an orientation for some people, including me, and have been active in poly dating for a long time. This means my natural inclination is to fall in love with more than one person at a given time, and I have many years of experience dating more than one person at the same time, both in multi-person units and as separate relationships. I think trust is sexy, and can only make things work with people who are capable of trusting someone in an intimate relationship.

I am open to gender queers and transgender people, depending on how compatible we might be in other areas. I'm very much not into assigning anything by gender roles (man/woman, butch/femme, etc.). I am very much into whoever wants to do it and has the skills to do it should do it.

I am a Celtic Reconstructionist Pagan, sometimes also part of how some people understand the term Druid. For years I was also a member of the SCA (Society for Creative Anachronism), but at this point I have too many other priorities. Though I would be pretty excited to find places to dance early dances, and to throw axes (NOT in the same place ;) ). Other interests I have and want their keywords in my profile include: Gaelic, Celtic, Pagan, Early music, Pagan music, songwriter...

Ma ta tu in ann an habairt seo a leigh, scriobh dom as Gaeilge.

In the interest of full disclosure: I also live with some chronic health issues, which add some limitations that fully healthy people may not always have much patience for. I have a very restricted diet due to food allergies, which can make it challenging to find a restaurant where I can actually eat without getting sick (they do exist, but it takes some looking around). I have a few other limitations too, that I am more likely to talk about in person rather than post to an online profile. I will say, I take responsibility for my own issues and do not try to make it anyone else's problem. However, my limitations are real, and I try to be clear about what they are and how they affect me at any given time.

I also try to limit how much time I spend online, so if I'm slow to respond to you here on OKC, please don't take it personally. I may in fact think you are extremely awesome once I meet you, but I'm only on OKC somewhat sporadically.
What I’m doing with my life
The biggest new thing in my life right now is that I have just rekindled my original goal from high school, to become a mental health counselor. I'm getting very serious about applying for the MSW program at UW in Seattle, though I'm not yet certain whether I would aim to start school in the fall of 2014 or 2015. I'm also on a waiting list to get training as a peer counselor, and plan to start volunteering soon at a series of programs for homeless and at risk youth.

Right now I'm also teaching 3 Irish language classes, and working pretty hard with my band to prepare for recording a demo, which we can then use to get more live gigs. We hope to record an album soon too. It's pretty exciting. :)

My solo music is also important to me. I made 4 solo albums and 1 album in a duo. If you are interested in hearing what I made as a solo musician, you can hear samples of (or buy) my music from , or , or download it legally at most legal download sites.

I had hoped to continue my training in Ortho-bionomy , a form of holistic bodywork, but it's just not happening right now. If you happen to have any training in Ortho-Bionomy , please contact me.

And I am working on improving my health.
I’m really good at
Wow, modesty is either gonna kill me or I'm gonna kill it here. I'll go with the cop-out "I have been told I'm good at": communication, listening, empathy, learning (or absorbing) languages, teaching Irish (Gaeilge) to English speakers, trancework and healing, learning and playing the harp, learning the bodhran, intuitive work (readings and healing), magic (especially protection), working with children, writing, articulating emotional and spiritual subjects, advocacy, academia, puzzles and puzzle games, sean nos (old Irish style) singing, picking up new dances, dancing in general, and probably a bunch of other stuff I'm not remembering or not writing about right now. :)

More than anything else in my life, I've been told many different times and in many different ways that I'm a great singer.
The first things people usually notice about me
my voice; they think I'm cute, pretty, or attractive; creativity; intelligence/articulation; very strong spirituality; strong link to Celtic heritage (music, languages, history, spirituality, etc); strong empathy skills/ good listener
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: I have a reading disability, and as a result I read very slowly, and can't read many books per year. The Last Unicorn by Peter S Beagle is the only book I have actually read more than once, and I do love it, so I guess that's a favorite. I tend to spend my reading on Celtic Reconstructionist research, or stuff related to making the world a better place (socio-economics, etc.). I often get people to read other things (like fiction) to me, and I love being read to, especially while snuggling.

Movies: The Dark Crystal, Labrynth, Legend (American and UK), The Secret of Roan Inish, Waking Ned Divine, The Never-Ending Story, Watership Down, Moll Flanders, Xanadu.

Music: Loreena McKennitt, Enya, Clannad, Moya Brennan, AfroCelt Sound System, Iarla O'Lionaird, Sean 'ac Donncha, Sorcha ni Ghuairm, Noirin ni Riain, Padraigin ni Uallachain, Sileas, the Indigo Girls, Ani diFranco, Suzanne Vega, Siobhan Armstrong, Patrick Ball, Sarah McLachlan, Madonna, Smashing Pumpkins, Annie Humphrey, Dead Can Dance, Bill Taylor, Kila, Capercaillie, Joni Mitchell

Food: I'm tempted to just write "see music" -- that's pretty much what really nourishes me. My favorite physical foods are: chocolate, ice cream, berries, almonds, and fresh leafy greens, but I have so many digestive complications that even those aren't always all good. I am working on getting that back under control, though.
Six things I could never do without
music, dance, love, music, spirituality, and music
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Music. :) And spirituality, and how to make the world a better place (includes healing)
On a typical Friday night I am
I might be: gaming with friends (board games, I don't do online games, other than puzzles), or at pagan gatherings, or at concerts (mine or someone else's), or at home working really hard on something or other. I'd REALLY love to add "dancing" back onto this list. :)
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I've survived a lot of abuse and trauma. I've healed a lot by now, and I am pretty open about it. I have even released a whole album about it ( .
You should message me if
You want to.
The two of us