IrkaBirka
45 La Crescenta, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
IrkaBirka
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Welcome to my profile. Stay awhile.

I'm traveling to Goteborg, Sweden for two weeks this summer, so if you're Swedish and wondering why I viewed your profile, now you know. :)

I enjoy hiking, traveling, reading, and learning languages. I love to try new hole-in-the-wall restaurants and people-watch, and when I travel, I like to visit non-touristy places where I can interact with local folks.

I've done my share of globe-trotting, and I served four months in West Africa with the Peace Corps, until civil war broke out and I was evacuated by helicopter.

As for my ethnicity, my father is Lebanese and my mother is Jewish. Quite a mix, huh?
What I’m doing with my life
Working, hiking, writing, reading the L.A. Times, and learning - always learning.

I have worked as a public-school teacher in inner-city Los Angeles for seventeen years (six years in elementary and eleven in high school).

These two paragraphs don't sum me up; I'm a complex dude.
I’m really good at
Learning languages, reading people, and writing. I've almost finished editing my novel, so if you're a literary agent, I'd love to hear from you. If my looks or charm haven't won you over - perhaps my writing ability will. :)
The first things people usually notice about me
Many people have noticed my eyes - and a resemblance to a tennis star whose name rhymes with "haggissy." (Yeah, I know that's not a word.)
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I read a novel on average every two months, and I read the L.A. Times and online news every single day. I don't watch much television, but I listen to lots of public radio and I love to go to the movies. My favorite theater chains are the Laemmle and Landmark, but I'm willing to compromise and see a blockbuster every so often.

Musically, I like a lot of hard rock and music from the 60's and 70's, but I'm open to other types of music as well. The Beatles are an all-time favorite.
The six things I could never do without
1. Good, stimulating conversation.
2. Travel.
3. Hiking in the mountains - mostly the Verdugos, the San Gabriels, and Griffith Park.
4. A good internet connection.
5. My daily newspaper.
6. Faire l'amour.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Where will I travel next? What should I make for dinner? Should I go for a hike today after work?

A lot of women on OkCupid say they're searching for a "partner in crime." Why does this website attract so many female criminals? :)

I've also thought a lot about my future and what other career I might find as fulfilling as my current one. I give a lot of thought to world issues, such as the wars in South Sudan, Central African Republic, and, especially, Syria and Iraq.

Lastly, and perhaps most relevant, will I find a down-to-earth, smart, passionate, warm, sexy woman to be my lover and life partner before I qualify for AARP membership?
On a typical Friday night I am
On Friday evenings, I enjoy hiking in Griffith Park with a few friends, some snacks, and a bottle of wine. Either that, or I'm sitting on my futon at home, feet up on a chair, listening to public radio, catching up on the newspaper, watching a DVD, or talking on the phone.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm a pretty open person, but I'm an internet ghost. I don't have a Facebook, Twitter, or LinkedIn account. I don't even have any store club cards. I'll answer most of your questions, but I don't want to create a permanent record of everything I say, do, or ate for lunch. :)
You should message me if
* If you're interested in getting to know me, send me a message - or respond to mine.
* If you're sitting in an internet cafe in Lagos with a fake profile and hijacked photos of some 25-year-old Czech beauty queen, e-mail me to say hello, and tell me what Nigerian band or musician you like the most. Oh, and shame on you.
More