34Brooklyn, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm a "retired" political consultant who's been living on the road for the past 5 years. After moving from state to state for so long, I'm ready to settle down in NYC or the area and focus on my life.

I love to laugh, and to make others laugh - because without humor, what's the point?

When the weather is crappy, I love to curl up with a good book, watch a movie or play a game. There's also a good chance I'm doing three things while "watching" TV.

When the weather is good, just try and catch me inside; I'd much rather be out riding my bike, going for a hike, hanging out on the beach or just lounging in a nearby park.

Life goals:

"To laugh often and love much; to win the respect of intellingent persons and the affection of children; to earn the approbation of honest citizens and endure the betrayal of false friends; to appreciate beauty; to find the best in others; to give of one's self; to leave the world a bit better, whether by a healthy child, a garden patch or a redeemed social condition; to have played and laughed with enthusiasm and sung with exultation; to know even one life has breathed easier because you have lived - this is to have succeeded." --Emerson
What I’m doing with my life
Professionally, I've been working as a political campaign professional, helping democrats get elected. That's forced me to move every 8 months for the last 5 years, so I'm walking away from that.

Confession: The 'retired' status is a little misleading. No, I didn't strike it rich in politics, and I'm not spending my 30s lounging on the french riviera. I'm currently a first year law student in the city. Once that's done, I'll be back in the game, working even harder to make things better for as many people as I can.

What I'm really doing is settling down in NYC so I can be close to my family and friends, and building from there.

Update: School is done, and I've passed the bar. I'm working as an attorney for the state doing affordable housing work. The hours are good and the work is rewarding, so I'm a pretty happy camper.
I’m really good at
Making people laugh. Solving other people's problems. Listening. Riding my bike long distances. Lounging on the beach. Talking to strangers. Writing incomplete sentences. Reading. Tetris.
The first things people usually notice about me
Physically? Probably my eyes. Personality wise? I laugh easily and I'm eager to get involved or lend a hand.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Addicted to an ever growing list of podcasts. Serial, Invisibilia, Planet Money, Startup, This American Life, Wait Wait... The list goes on.
Six things I could never do without
My bike.
My smartphone - I hate it sometimes, but there's no doubt I'm dependent.
My friends - do they count as 'things?'
Laughter - this is a ridiculous world we live in, and you can either laugh or cry about it. I choose the former.
I think that's it, but if I come up with something else, I'll be sure to let y'all know.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
I can tell you that I've spent way too much time thinking about this question. I don't know, I think about a lot of things.
On a typical Friday night I am
Out, in, who knows? If something's going on, I'm down to do it, but I'm equally happy settling in for a quiet night.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
My primary goal is life is to get Carl Kasell's voice on my home answering machine. I also have a really absurd irrational fear, but I'm not sharing that on here - you've gotta ask.
You should message me if
If you want to get together and share a laugh, talk about some stuff, taste some food, have a drink, play in the sun.... You get the picture. Message me if you feel like it!
The two of us