37 Durham, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
*definitely look at the bottom for specifics*
Right now, I've finished a PhD program and I work for a nonprofit progressive political organization on the side. I write all the time--chapters, articles, speeches, PR, long-winded emails. That's my life right now. When I'm not writing, I'm traveling, exploring Durham or Raleigh, or just walking my dog and thinking.

The best compliment I've received this week is that I'm adventurous. The most useful critique I received is that I can be really impatient. I'm working on it.

I'm really politically liberal. Social justice is as close as I come to religious beliefs.

When I lived overseas, I once walked three miles in the back woods of the Ukraine with a friend to hunt down a little-known vineyard and try their wine. I like to move.

My life is pretty eclectic, although, my appearance never changes. I've had people recognize me whom I haven't seen since I was 12. But long hair and big hazel eyes seem to work for me, so I'm going to stick with them :)
What I’m doing with my life
Packing, organizing, hanging out
I’m really good at
Picking out good gifts for people, getting kids to stop crying, knowing odd movie trivia
The first things people usually notice about me
I have big hazel eyes that switch from green to brown on occasion.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: I'm reading the Shock Doctrine now and loving it; Stones in the River, Catch 22, The Boondocks, Madness and Civilization, No Exit, Windup Bird Chronicles, Joss Whedon comics, most indie graphic novels my friend JP puts in my hands (I read a ton)

Movies: Tombstone, Snatch, Love Actually, Gladiator, 300, Juno, The Social Network, The American President, Serenity

TV: Glee, Eddie Izzard, Criminal Minds, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, The West Wing, Parenthood, Coupling

Food: Sushi, freshly baked chocolate chip cookies
The six things I could never do without
1. My iPad--I'm a junkie
2. Books, and now e-books
3. My dog, Lucy
4. An internet connection
5. My three closest friends
6. The mountains
I spend a lot of time thinking about
I'd like someone/s to hang out with and have fun. While I'm really open to a lot of things, anything will begin with coffee and a chat.
On a typical Friday night I am
Family dinner is kind of a cultural thing. But after, it's up in the air.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I am perpetually daydreaming. Even in situations when it's really not appropriate.
You should message me if
You're open minded, kind, and read my "time thinking about" section. If you'd like to meet up and see where things go, drop me a line! But please, please don't message me asking to meet for sex. Call me crazy, but an intellectual/personal connection first is a must for me.