28 Birmingham, United Kingdom
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm a student, a mathematician and an all-purpose nerd. I enjoy my subject, scifi, comic books, board- & video games and think it's brilliant that this site lists C++ in its languages section!

I'm also into the goth, burlesque and bdsm/fetish scenes, and can often be found in the various events that cater for such across Coventry and Birmingham.

I'm in a committed albeit polyamorous relationship, and am here looking for both new friends and maybe new partners if the right person comes along. Obviously, the latter can only happen if you're open to at least trying polyamory as well.
What I’m doing with my life
A PhD in applied maths at the University of Warwick is definitely my single biggest time sink. Otherwise I spend a lot of my time on Steam, watching classic films and drinking coffee. I'm a big fan of good food and drink, real ale in particular, although haven't found the time and inclination to do as much toward them as I should like recently. I'm into all kinds of puzzles, my favourite being Manufactoria:
I’m really good at
My degree, frankly. I'm pretty good at maths & sciences more generally too, as well as games and puzzles. I have an award for "best painted army" from a wargaming tournament (although admittedly not a very large one) so I'm at least competent at that, and I'm getting pretty decent at whip cracking. I brew my own ale and make an excellent cup of coffee.
The first things people usually notice about me
My ponytail, which is getting quite long. Or my hair in general, if it doesn't happen to be bound. Shortly followed by my fondness of puns and an air of cynicism, at least if I'm on form.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I've got quite a few I could name for each category (it seems everyone does), but I think this shortlist is representative.

Book - Metamorphosis by Franz Kafka
Movie - Pi by Darren Aronofsky
Show (TV) - Twin Peaks by David Lynch
Show (play, musical etc.) - St. Joan of the Stockyards by Bertolt Brecht
Music - S&M by Metallica
Food - Spicy. Turkish and Mexican especially.
The six things I could never do without
Coffee, mathematics, a computer...

...I could probably make do without much else, if I had to. Can I say those twice? Oh, the computer has to come with an internet connection, so that'll be number seven.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
My girlfriend often asks me what I'm thinking, and I hate the question because it always makes my mind go blank. I'll reply with another link:

When it comes to Youtube links, my memory is pretty much eidetic.
On a typical Friday night I am
At a pub, a cinema, a friend's house, or most frequently at home. Often with my laptop. I don't lead a very hectic lifestyle.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm into BDSM. It hasn't been a part of all of my previous relationships and doesn't have to enter into all of my future ones, but I do have a certain fondness of submissive or masochistic people.
You should message me if
We have something in common, or you think at least one of us might be interesting. That's probably enough for a good start. And you either want to be just friends, or have noticed the part about polyamory at the start.