33Toronto, Canada
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I’m an adventurer, a dancer, an engineer.

There is more richness in the world than I can possibly comprehend. Cultures, people, food and natural beauty all captivate me and the more I see of the world, the more I want to.

I love life in the city. It’s full of excitement, things to do, people to connect with but I also need my open space: space to be quiet, space to run/paddle/bike, space to build stuff, burn stuff, blow stuff up ☺. So, I continually oscillate back and forth, and still find myself living like a nomad at times, but am also *maybe* starting to root, a bit.

I have found polyamory fits me pretty well (ask me about it!), but I’m not looking for friends with benefits. I’m looking for someone run through life and share a home with, a partner to ground and anchor me. A relationship I can be confident in regardless of who else passes through our lives.
What I’m doing with my life
I’m working as a contractor in green building and renewable energy, focusing particularly on solar. There are still many hurdles to overcome, but it’s an exciting time to be in the energy industry! There are all sorts of excellent technologies and ideas out there, my passion is figuring out how to make it work in the ‘real world’. I love what I do, even though that definition is continually evolving.

I try to balance work and the rest of life, making time for dancing, friends, climbing and adventures too. Fortunately I often manage to juggle/combine many of the above and when it works, win! I’m back in Toronto now and am working on building connections here, both professionally and personally.
I’m really good at
Going above and beyond for fun. Whether it’s cooking an elaborate meal, a last minute weekend canoe trip or building/designing custom furniture. It doesn’t always work out as planned (homemade mozzarella should be treated with caution) but when it does, it’s spectacular and there’s a great story in any case.
The first things people usually notice about me
I would guess: I’m skinny, grinning and slightly out of breath from recently jumping off my bike (regardless of season). Then, depending on the occasion you might notice what I’m wearing. I don’t know if I have a ‘style’ per se, but often a story to go along with it so it’s a conversation starter.

I may be a bit quiet at first, but I love adventure and meeting new people; once I get past the initial nerves you’ll find me in the thick of things, making connections and scheming schemes.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: My favorite author is Guy Gavriel Kay, but I read all sorts and many have left their mark including: Pilgrim at Tinker Creek, Eunoia, Song of Ice and Fire, Cryptonomicon, THHGTTG, Stranger in a Strange Land, The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo trilogy… I’ll add more as I think of it…

Movies: I want a story that leaves me changed, or stands out confidently different from anything else I’ve seen. Off the top of my head: The Artist, Life is Beautiful, The Red Violin, Shawshank, The Matrix, Pulp Fiction, Inception, Incendies, Fantastic Mister Fox, The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel, Little Miss Sunshine….

Music: I have an incredibly eclectic collection but indie folk and classical get played the most. I’m captivated by creative and interesting regardless of genre, be it Don Ross, Phillip Glass, Mother Mother or Tool.

Food: I love to cook, and to share food. As with music I’m most caught by creativity and character. If you’ll teach me how to cook something new I’ll return the favor. I try to eat/cook more vegetarian than not, but a good steak from a happy cow is a great way to celebrate!
Six things I could never do without
1. My cottage. This is my home place, where I will always come back to. Off the grid on an island in Northern Ontario it is my favorite place in the world.
2. My camera. I don’t aspire to be a professional photographer but I do I love telling stories and capturing moments whenever I can. I shoot Canon if compatibility is a question ☺.
3. My people. I connect deeply and relish investing in those around me. Whether it’s sharing food and drink or discussions meandering long into the night I cherish those around me, and there’s never enough time…
4. Music. Symphonic, Choral, Folk, Rock, World… Pick your style and music is a language of expression. I used to play euphonium, I still sing and attend concerts and music festivals whenever I can.
5. Adventure! I’m most alive when I’m winging it, aiming for an ambitious goal with plenty of room to improvise.
6. Working with my hands. I’ve always built things, broken things, tried to fix them, added a custom piece here or there to ‘improve’ it (or at least replace what I broke). I have a decent wood shop and ran a small woodworking business for a while too.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Relationships – caring and pushing, scheming adventures and fitting as much into life as possible (and much more than is reasonable). I may not be the friend to call every day after work to shoot the breeze, but if you need me, call any time. I mean it. I often show up unexpectedly with a plan/meal/story and love reconnecting to old friends, and regardless of how much time has passed, we still go deep.
On a typical Friday night I am
Blues and/or swing dancing, going to the TSO, concerts, rock climbing, dinner parties, board games, driving up north for a weekend canoe trip… who knows!
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Kink, particularly rope ;)
You should message me if
You’re independent and have you own life but are looking for a partnership with both high adventure and deep connection.
You’re intrigued by something above and want to ask, or just want someone to go to the symphony with.
You have an adventure in mind and want a willing compatriot.
Give me a shout!
The two of us