53San Jose, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary

I'm John.

I'm a native of Sonoma County, born in Santa Rosa, and I've lived much of my life in Santa Rosa and Healdsburg, with a brief detour to San Jose. I've recently moved back to Silicon Valley for work.

I eschew stereotypes and gossip, am proudly liberal, am working on my spiritual life (Buddhism), being more community-involved, and am not looking for someone to fill all my needs or complete me.

I'm sensitive, compassionate, funny, smart, open-minded, and emotionally available. I listen and can hold up my end of a conversation. I will never tell you that your feelings are wrong or how to feel. I've been on the receiving end. I will hug and kiss you every day, and share other forms of affection as mutually desired.

I've been told I'm attractive and sometimes I believe it. One of my friends actually said I was "charming". My jaw hit the floor.

I'm imperfect, but am working on improving myself physically, emotionally, spiritually, mentally, and financially. I'm heavier than I was 20 years ago, the hair on my head is thinner than it was, and the hair on my body is thicker, but I wouldn't want to be 20 years younger.

I don't smoke or do drugs, but do have a drink occasionally. I am getting healthier with food, while enjoying what I am eating. I'm exercising more (walking, hiking, and cycling) and losing weight. As of today, 6/7/2014, I've lost about 123.2 pounds since 5/31/2013. This has been through counting calories and cycling my butt off. I also enjoy conversations, book stores, people-watching, animals, and children.

I went to Yosemite with a friend of mine (8/2009) and, among other things, hiked all the way to the top of Mt Dana, which is just over 13,000 feet. It was a first for me and a thrill. I met many people coming down the mountain who had not reached the summit. It was a life-changing experience. I showed myself that, despite my weight, I can accomplish what others will or can not. That being said, I do consider myself athletic, though I do have a ways to go and I know I do not appear athletic. I recently completed my first 100 km bike ride.

I enjoy women with their own interests, opinions, and smarts, and who are not afraid to express themselves. Please don't let lines on your face or being overweight deter you. The lines might convey that you've smiled and laughed a lot during your life, ALWAYS a good thing. As long as, like me, you're working on getting healthier, it's not an issue. Still working through your stuff? Me too. I'd rather be with someone who knows they're imperfect--as are all us humans--and strives to improve themselves and make the world a better place, even if it is on the smallest of scales. I'll happily join you and cheer you all the way.

I like walking, hiking, Yosemite, salsa dancing, friendship, photography, cycling, weight-lifting, tennis, reading, writing, self-improvement, children, dogs, cats, conversation, people-watching, laughing, martial arts, Scrabble, Yahtzee, crossword puzzles, sudoku, movies, volleyball, conversation, politics, singing, computers, sailing, playing pool, bowling, geocaching, GPS, cartography, maps, kissing, hugs, cuddling, affection, sounds of nature, good food, Annadel State Park, San Franciso, Bernini, mythology, puns, banter, helping others, walking barefoot through the grass, working with my hands, learning new things, sexuality, spirituality, psychology, serendipity, epiphanies...

I know a lot of guys are into football, baseball, golf, and NASCAR, but that's just not me, and I'm not looking to change that.

I am Silly, Sane, and Compassionate.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm cycling my butt off, inconsistently building my meditation practice, and learning how to be present, but always with humor. I joined a cycling club and participate in and lead group rides. I watch too much TV, but have Netflix, so I'm not chained to it or it's schedule and am happy to put it on the back burner. I'd rather be with a friend than the screen. I enjoy my digital SLR and am happily exploring my photography bug, technically and artistically.
I’m really good at
Listening without needing to fix everything, writing, problem-solving, crosswords, sudoku, fixing computers.
The first things people usually notice about me
My sense of humor: They may not get it, but they do notice it. Well... They'd notice I'm also a big fella.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Some authors I enjoy are Pema Chodron, Kathy Reichs, Michael Connolly, Lee Child, and F Paul Wilson.

Movies: I plead guilty to loving romantic comedies. Some titles I liked are "Something New", "About a Boy", "Wonder Boys", "The Game", "Schindler's List", "12 Angry Men", "Fight Club", and "Notting Hill". I also really enjoy action flicks. I don't really enjoy watching sports, but enjoy sports movies. I go to movies with the intention of enjoying them and not looking to find fault. I judge them on their own terms. Complaining that "The Hangover" is no "Schindler's List" is comparing apples and oranges. I love Netflix quite a bit.

TV Shows: I mainly enjoy crime dramas, good sci-fi (hard to find), dramas, hour-long comedies, select shows on politics (not Fox). Examples would be "Orange is the New Black", "Real Time", "Dexter", "Eureka", "Doctor Who", "Dead Like Me", and others. I know, some of them aren't current. I'm not a fan of most "reality" shows because I don't enjoy watching people being humiliated.

Music: Musically, I enjoy rock, blues, R&B, some jazz, classical, world, and a smattering of country. Some artists/bands I like are Eric Clapton, Stevie Ray Vaughan, Gary Moore, Green Day, John Hiatt, Al Green, War, R.E.M., Melissa Etheridge, Linkin' Park, James Brown, and many more.

I like dancing to latin music, i.e., salsa, rumba, and cha cha.
Six things I could never do without
In no particular order; sunlight, books, good conversation, my camera, my bicycle, and a good pair of walking/hiking shoes/boots.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
What I can do to become a better human being, cyclist, and photographer.
On a typical Friday night I am
Riding my butt off, at least before I relocated to San Jose. I'm still trying to get situated.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I AM Iron Man...
You should message me if
You want to talk.

You have nothing to lose in meeting and making a new friend at a minimum, or seeing where it might lead.

You don't mind someone who might be less in shape than you are, but is willing to work on keeping up to you until you have to work on keeping up with me :)

I'm not super-firm on the age thing, but prefer someone closer to my age than remote.

While my profile says I might like to have children, I have accepted that may not happen, especially given my preference for someone closer to my age.
The two of us