John_K1nk
23 Colchester, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
John_K1nk
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I am a college graduate currently working as a STEM teacher at a private school in CT.
What I’m doing with my life
I am a recent Neuroscience (Chemistry minor) graduate working as a teacher in the area. My goal is to work for two years and then pursue an MD/PhD in neurology before heading off somewhere else to work in clinical research. Currently, I am a few months into a teaching position that is working off of my STEM background. I want to see where that takes me for a while before deciding on graduate or medical school.
I’m really good at
Analysis, whether of individuals, situations, concepts/ideas, theories, or otherwise. I have a ridiculous desire to know "everything" and every day I move closer to that intangible ideal. Also, I am pretty slick at learning random computer shortcuts -- mostly to impress myself.
The first things people usually notice about me
The first things people notice are my neat style of dress, my glasses (or contacts if I am feeling adventurous), and my intense/serious demeanor (which is a double-edged sword, admittedly).
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: Catch-22, Gravity's Rainbow, Stranger in a Strange Land, Nineteen Eighty-Four, Slaughterhouse-Five, Cat's Cradle (favorite), The Bell Jar, and anything I find interesting at the time.

Movies: Dr. Strangelove (favorite -- yes, I know its long subtitle), Pulp Fiction, The Ring (original), Kill Bill, and any odd, foreign/independent films (plus whatever random stuff I can find on Netflix).

Shows: I rarely watch television, but I love How It's Made, Monk, Mythbusters, House, and any relatively educational programming available. My guilty pleasures include anything on Food Network or HGTV.

Music: I love every genre of music EXCEPT country. My favorites include Pink Floyd, Tool, Meshuggah, Lustmord, Utada Hikaru, Radiohead, Ravi Shankar, and even cheesy popular music.

Food (cuisines): Japanese, Thai, Indian, Vietnamese, and French in that order.
The six things I could never do without
1. My phone
2. My friends
3. The Internet
4. Science
5. An education (I am super grateful for the opportunity)
6. People (solitude quickly turns into boredom)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Morality, mortality, philosophies concerning life's ultimate meaning (maybe nothing -- so it seems), love, and psychology. I also like thinking about frivolous things like what I will wear to work and if my apartment is clean enough.
On a typical Friday night I am
Relaxing with friends either at home or out somewhere. If not, I am engaged in a quiet activity such as reading. Right now, I work late, so that's likely to eat up a Friday night (as boring as that is).
You should message me if
You "should" (awful word) message me if you are intelligent/interesting/cool in some way and like to stand out. Special snowflakes completely welcome.
More