JollyJohn11
31Washington, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
JollyJohn11
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Editor. Playwright. Book and theatre reviewer. Podcast listener. Green tea, wheat beer, and white wine drinker. Carb eater. Playlist creator. Cardigan wearer. Soulmate seeker.

I'm looking for someone to complement me (and maybe even compliment me, occasionally!), but also push me out of my comfort zone—we should all be doing things that make us nervous more often—and introduce me to new things. In return I promise to make you lots of mixtapes made up exclusively of bands of which you've never heard and to proofread all of your cover letters/emails/Facebook statuses as needed. Passion, talent, and genuineness are attractive to me... pretty much everything else is negotiable.
What I’m doing with my life
I do lots of random things vaguely related to marketing and media, just like the female protagonist in every romantic comedy ever made.

I'm a playwright and member of a professional feminist theatre company here in DC.

Otherwise, I like going to concerts, wine touring, reading, discovering new podcasts, collecting quotes, volunteering, etc.
I’m really good at
writing endlessly, flip cup, creating elaborate Spotify playlists around specific themes, using the Oxford comma, and delivering best man speeches.
The first things people usually notice about me
"What? Holly? Oh, Jolly. Wait, is that your real name?"
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Reading: I challenged myself to read 50 books in 2016 (currently at 55 and counting), so I'm happy to give/take book recommendations. I use my library card like it's going out of style (which it sadly probably is) and don't own an e-reader (but I try not to be insufferable about it).

Listening: My tastes tend to run to the obscure (Spotify says my favorite genres of 2016 include "Stomp and Holler" and "Chamber Pop," so that's... a thing), but I enjoy listening to Top 40 on the rare occasion I'm in a car (see more on that below). I also love making excessively long and aggressively themed playlists.

Food-ing: People who don't like desserts scare me. The list of foods I won't eat is very short (and includes avocados [I know! Please don't give me a hard time about this!], raisins [the devil's fruit], and coconut water).
Six things I could never do without
- Friends and family
- The Internet
- Library card
- A journal in which I can jot down good quotes/random bits of dialogue
- Air conditioning
- Tea
I spend a lot of time thinking about
what I should write about next and when and for how long I can nap.
On a typical Friday night I am
In the fetal position, recovering from the week and looking forward to the weekend. Or out with friends. Or both?
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Not private (I'm pretty much willing to tell anyone everything about myself, whether they like it or not), but noteworthy:

- I have an unironic love of unicorns. My desk at work looks like a Lisa Frank store exploded nearby.

- I haven't owned a car or driven regularly since I was 17 (although I have a valid license, just in case). I've only driven on a highway once, and that was with a driving teacher in the car (he had his own break, which was reassuring/not at all reassuring). All of which is to say: You're driving, but I do my best to be an entertaining/appreciative passenger!
You should message me if
you'd like to grab a beer or cup of tea sometime! Or, you are my 100% enemy, because I desperately need an arch-nemesis and would like to challenge you to a duel.
More
The two of us
--
Lifestyle
--
Dating
--
Other
--
Ethics
--
Sex
--
Religion