44 Fremont, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Grew up in Wisconsin, went to an engineering school on the east coast, moved all over the US, settled down in the midwest and had kids, got sick of the snow and ice, moved west, got divorced, and decided to give this whole online dating thing a try. Flying to Europe right now going to spend a few days in the Netherlands, London, and Ireland for work.
What I’m doing with my life
Right now, working, traveling, figuring out this crazy thing called life, and planning my trip to London and Europe over Christmas and New Years. I have been to 8 countries last year traveling for work (France - Paris 5 times, Germany, Netherlands, Spain, Switzerland, Ireland, Norway, and Turkey)

Working for a medical device company running one of their R&D groups and having a great time doing it, traveling to different countries, keeping/getting in touch with old friends, and trying to make sure that I don't have any regrets in life. I don't want to ever have to ask myself, what if. A little more eloquently expressed in the quote by Mark Twain below.

"Twenty years from now, you will be more disappointed by the things you didn't do than by the ones that you did. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover."
I’m really good at
solving technical problems, fixing things, basketball, swimming, staying warm (I run hot), cooking, speed reading, staying calm in a crisis, and strategic planning, finding great travel deals and getting upgrades
The first things people usually notice about me
My blond hair & blue eyes
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Favorite show - Top Gear
Music - pretty much everything from classical music, classic rock, to top 40
Movies - Usual Suspects, latest Star Trek, Bourne series with Matt Damon, Lord of the Rings, People Like Us, Perks of Being a Wallflower, Hobbit series- get to watch a lot of movies on international flights.
Books - History, Business, or Science Fiction although I have not had much time to read lately
The six things I could never do without
1. My kids
2. Family and friends
3. Exercise
4. My passport
5. A fast car (a fast car and a curvy road can change your day)
6. A job that makes a difference in the world
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Lately wondering if it is time to edit my profile and update it again. How easy it seems like it would be to fix a lot of things in the US and how inept our government seems to be at fixing them. The latest technical problem at work. Also, why it took me so long to figure out how good French wine is! I have been lucky and traveled to Paris (twice), Nantes, and Val d'Isere two years ago for work and discovered how good wine can be and how I haven't found a French wine I don't love yet.

Today, just how silly the whole list of questions to find your perfect match is. I spent some time last night before going to bed filling them out and came to the conclusion I don't agree at all with how they are used. The only parts that really mean anything to me are the deal breakers. Other than that, I don't want someone exactly like me. You need to have some things in common but I want someone with interests that I don't have. I want to be challenged by the person I am with, to try new things, to grow as a person. I don't want my life to be predictable (sort of funny for an engineer).

On another random note, I think that the whole saying of marriage being about compromising is crap! If you think you have found that someone special don't give up a thing that is important to you and don't have them do it either because if you can make it work like that, you will never resent what was given up in the hard times and I think that it gives you a good chance of beating the odds and making it as a couple.

Lately I've been think about starting wine collecting as a hobby and have bought a wine chiller for storage. I've brought back 24 bottles so far from European trips this year and have found some amazing wines. I'd like to start collecting some bottles to sell later and see it it could fund my collection for personal use.

Latest thing is what to do and see on my trip to London and Europe over Christmas and New Years.
On a typical Friday night I am
Picking up my kids, making pizza from scratch with my kids, having a movie night with my kids, and planning a trip to a special place with my kids on the weekend. My weekends without the kids, either getting together with some old friends that live in the area and planning out my next hike or traveling to some place internationally for an extended weekend to see if it is worth coming back for a long trip. I watch the airfare sales and then just go when I find a good deal. Last one was Bogota, Columbia.
You should message me if
You are intelligent, active, open, honest, and think there is nothing wrong with being a kid at heart and open to seeing what happens