27 Wichita, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Born and raised in Kansas City, went to college in Iowa, and then graduate school in Boston. I moved back to my home state in May 2015 to start a new job and be closer to family. I hadn't spent much time in Wichita since I was about twelve, so I've really been enjoying exploring what is to me, basically, a new city. That said, I'm frequently reminded of why I never missed Kansas' weather. Oof.
What I’m doing with my life
I have a master's degree in public health, focusing on sex education , and now I work as a disease investigation specialist for the gub'mint. It keeps me on my toes, and when the zombie plague hits, I'll be the one saving your butt. I can also sometimes be seen on the local med school campus, starring in the role of guest lecturer.

When I'm not talking health, I spend a lot of time baking in the kitchen, and I enjoy experimenting with interesting extracts and flavorings. I'm also a huge stand-up comedy junkie, and I spend an embarrassing amount of time following my favorite comedians on Youtube and Twitter. Occasionally, I get on stage myself and let loose a joke or two. I have a pet cat named Lucas who thinks he's a dog, and I love him to pieces, even when he drinks from the toilet. I collect vintage cookbooks, sing along to "Hamilton" in my car, and occasionally try to convince small children that I'm actually an alien.

Also, I belong to a book club, but that makes me sound like a nerd. Whatever, I'll own it. I'm a nerd. But, like, a *cool* one.

Finally, I am on a neverending quest to find the best cheeseburger in every city I visit. Suggestions welcome.
I’m really good at
School, apparently, since I managed to complete eighteen grades in a row. That might just be masochism, though.

Baking things. Unfortunately, I can only eat so much, I hope you can help me out! I ALWAYS have baked goods on hand.

People watching. Having majored in anthropology in undergrad, I can take it to the next level.

Three point turns.

Retaining and recalling odd bits of trivia. Trust me, you want me around when you play pub quiz.
The first things people usually notice about me
I have really long eyelashes. No, they're not fake, I promise.

I tend to talk very quickly, with lots of hand gestures. My friends say I show *enthusiasm,* but what I think they really mean is that I need to slow the hell down. I can't help it, I'm Midwestern. We talk fast to make up for our lack of discernible accent.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Movies: An Education, Moonrise Kingdom, Star Wars, and Charlie Bartlett. But really, I'll watch most anything. I recently saw Snowpiercer and it BLEW MY MIND.

Books: I have so many books I've loved over the years that it's hard to choose just one. I recently read The Chaperone by Laura Moriarty and enjoyed it very much. The Power of One by Bryce Courtnay will always be a perennial favorite, along with Harry Potter (duh). I've also really gotten into non-fiction and memoirs over the past few years, favorites including Gulp by Mary Roach and Alex and Me by Irene Pepperburg. Currently working my way through The Ghost Map by Steven Johnson.

TV shows: Right now, I'm slightly obsessed with Parks and Rec and Orphan Black but I also like Dr. Who and the Mindy Project. I watch a lot of BBC documentaries and stand-up specials on YouTube, too.

Music: Alex Goot, Boyce Avenue, movie scores (right now, the Hunger Games and Brave), Emeli Sande, Matt Nathanson, Celtic Woman, Ed Sheeran, Lorde, Janelle Monae, selected EDM, and my guilty pleasure, Taylor Swift.

Foods: Dessert, any and all kinds. I love sushi and Italian food, as well.
The six things I could never do without
1. Coffee. Cofffeeeeeee. Given that I'm not a morning person by anyone's definition, coffee enables me to, if not be bright and chipper, then at least be coherent before noon.

2. My smartphone, mostly for the built-in GPS. My sense of direction is nonexistent, so this feature has saved my ass more times than I can count.

3. Comfortable footwear. I don't do heels that lead to sore feet. Sorry.

4. Skype. My friends are literally scattered around the world, and these make being away from them much more bearable.

5. My memory foam mattress. Best night's sleep ever.

6. Dark chocolate almond butter. My two favorite things in ONE JAR.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
What my strategy would be if I were thrown into the Hunger Games.

How humans came up with the idea of consuming another animal's milk. I mean, don't get me wrong, I love cheese and yogurt, but, if you think about it, it *is* a really weird practice.

Jokes. Lots of jokes.
On a typical Friday night I am
Baking and Netflixing. Saturdays are generally when I go out.

Every night: Trying to find where I left my glasses.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I once attended the annual "Best Mullet" competition at the Iowa state fair, and I have a picture with the winner to prove it.

I never learned to ski, ride a bike, or play chess. I know, I was raised by wolves.

I was not, in fact, raised by wolves. I was raised by lawyers.
You should message me if
-You consider brinner (breakfast for dinner) to be one of the greatest culinary concepts of all time.

-You think a zombie apocalypse would prove to be a fascinating social experiment, if a little grisly.

-You want to teach me to ski, ride a bike, or play chess.