70 Manhattan, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I am a Jew(now) from Nebraska (then), an enthusiastic dancer to rock'n'roll music, a widow, and a friendly, independent, kind but sassy woman. I am nowhere near as conventional or as nicey-nice as I look.

I am financially independent. I am looking for friendship, fun and intimacy, not for a sugar daddy or someone to worship me.

I like reading, cooking for people I care about, eating well, listening to jazz in a club, walking through gardens and parks, telling stories, singing, gardening, discussing the meaning of life. I love to try new activities and learn new things.

I have sold the large family house I lived in for 34 years and rented a one-bedroom apartment in Inwood. I am thrilled to be on the A-train and only two blocks from an easygoing craft brew bar, and I enjoy living in a small place that's all mine.

I am really 69, not a year or two older. Though I love being on an express subway now, I actually enjoy driving. I still weigh more than I'd like (or you'd like!) but it's going down, and I am heavy, not fat. I pretty much look my age, but with a nice complexion that needs no makeup-- which is good, because I don't have the patience for it.

I spend a few days a month at my house on a pond in Eastham, on Cape Cod.

I spent a month in 2014 traveling all over South Africa, partly on tours, partly in hostels and on buses. What a beautiful and interesting country! In February I leave for a month with my good friend in New Zealand and Australia.

I would like to spend more of my life travelling, using my storytelling and book skills to help and entertain people, and trying new experiences, from new music to hiking to writing to open mics. I'd like to have someone special to cook for and ... etc.
What I’m doing with my life
Though I am retired from middle school librarianship, I'm doing more storytelling again, and looking to do toddler programs (I'm pretty easy to see as Mother Goose, I'm afraid) and school programs.

I have become an enthusiastic exerciser, and that has allowed me to enjoy some vigorous hiking in the Olympic Peninsula, the mountains near Tucson, and along the river in Riverdale and lately in the Inwood parks. Exercise has also put me back into leggings and short skirts, which I enjoy -- and so might you from your viewpoint.

I spend a lot of time reading, gardening, and listening to music, and with the house sold, I am going out a lot more and planning more travel. I like quirky things: exhibits in small museums, poetry readings, jazz at a tiny venue on the second floor in the Village, chamber music in an intimate setting.
I’m really good at
Languages, cooking, learning about gardening (I must admit that I have a bad habit of forgetting to water, but I know all the best techniques!), enjoying a visit to a jazz club or museum, walking and talking (both at once, since I never chew gum!), catching double entendres....
The first things people usually notice about me
is my smile. I used to hate that, but I'm comfortable enough with myself by now to feel that having a smile that makes other people happy is a good thing.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I love Dickens, Austen, Russell Hoban, Alan Furst, Jane Smiley, mysteries, essays, poetry (especially Gerard Manley Hopkins, e e cummings, Dickinson, Yeats), American history (my favorite biographer is Doris Kearns Goodwin), and much, much else. "The Wire" is my favorite TV show, and I also love "Foyle's War" and "30 Rock." I like action movies, quirky movies, romantic comedies, some documentaries, and drama...and don't like trendy, pessimistic noir. I never watch horror movies, because I actually get frightened!
I love to listen to jazz in a club, and find that to be a consistently relaxing and joyful experience. However, I also like a wide variety of other music, including classical and baroque, folk music (especially Celtic, Appalachian and African-American), gospel, Paul Simon, Creedence Clearwater, Bruce Springsteen, African pop and strange Ladino melodies....I will eat almost any cuisine, and especially love Italian, Sephardic, Thai and Chinese. I generally like my food both hot and spicy.
The six things I could never do without
Books, gardens, Coltrane's "A Love Supreme', sautéed greens, the sound and glint of moving water, singing in synagogue or indeed anywhere.
I don't say"someone to share this with" only because that is not really up to me. I can saute my own greens, and live an active and interesting life that might throw me together with a delightful man, but if I stay alone, that's got to be bearable.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How to make a productive, happy and interesting life for myself now that I'm fundamentally a single person, not a daughter, wife or mother: interesting questions to which the answers aren't as obvious as I'd like. Also, what to make for dinner.
On a typical Friday night I am
Out hearing music, babysitting my grandchildren, or feeling a little lonely.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
This having to be asexual is miserable. I am an adult, not a "senior!"
You should message me if
You would enjoy spending time with a woman who's not all of a piece: I am religious but neither intolerant nor at all staid, I like action movies and lilacs, I am cheerful and kind but have a tart tongue and a ribald sense of humor, life experiences have ensured that I'm fully grown up and yet I still love to go out in a storm, I can read all day or dance all night. Well, at this point, half the night, but dancing is great training for more dancing.

In other words, if, like me, you do not fit into a profile, drop me a line.