Kathleen934
27 North Brunswick, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Kathleen934
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm a children's and YA writer trying to make sense of and enjoy my 20s. After grad school, I hermitted it up in a cabin in the woods for a while, then returned to my home state to do an AmeriCorps term at a nonprofit for Sandy recovery, and I am now teaching reading. It's been an eventful couple of years! I am a raging idealist with varied interests and passions, and I enjoy talking to people who can say the same!
What I’m doing with my life
Writing, always! Also teaching.
I’m really good at
Both having serious conversations and knowing when it's necessary to be silly.
The first things people usually notice about me
Good question! That might be something you'll have to tell me!
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: so many. I am of course a member of the Harry Potter generation. I also love: His Dark Materials, The Prydain Chronicles, A Thread of Grace, The Sparrow & Children of God, A Tree Grows in Brooklyn, The Queen's Thief series, Speak, The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian, Wind on Fire trilogy, Chaos Walking trilogy, Les Miserables, The Raven Cycle, The Lumatere Chronicles, The Graceling Realm books, and many more

Movies: very random (a friend and I once watched Eastern Promises and Hairspray back-to-back just for the emotional whiplash of the thing). Favorites include: The Brothers Bloom, Stage Beauty, Moulin Rouge, How To Train Your Dragon, Jesus Christ Superstar (2000 version), A Muppet Christmas Carol

TV: Veronica Mars, Orphan Black, The X-Files, Avatar: The Last Airbender, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Hey Arnold, Underground

Music: slots of things! Very in love with Mumford & Sons, Regina Spektor, Josh Ritter, The Weepies, The Killers, The Oh Hellos, Of Monsters and Men, Hozier, The Head and the Heart. I also love musicals.

Food: everything but olives.
The six things I could never do without
1. family/friends
2. writing
3. forests
4. sunlight
5. my glasses
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Sort of everything. I'm pretty much incapable of turning my brain off. I try to use this trait to make myself a compassionate and conscientious person. I like to think about how stories can impact people's lives for the better.
On a typical Friday night I am
Hanging out with friends and/or just chilling. I'm more a small group of people kind of person as opposed to a party girl.
You should message me if
You're a kind person who's interested in saying hello!
More