51Oakland, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Part of me will always be 18 years old: irreverent, challenging authority, and with no sense of mortality. Another part of me is quite aware of the realities, expectations, and responsibilities of where I am at this stage in my life. Currently I don't have to worry about rent, children, or an alarm clock so rather than strapping on another corporate job I'm dusting off an old dream or two and figuring out what to do with the rest of my life that's fun and that helps people.
What I’m doing with my life
Am I on sabbatical or I'm a corporate refuge? Right now I climb a lot. I also think about going back to work... I'm not opposed to it. I'd just like to do something that is worth my time. I've made a few companies a whole lot of money and I just don't want another job where I hurt people all day yet still claim that, " I love my job".

I do volunteer with a Bay Area high school debate league. It is so cool working with kids who are trying to take their craft to a higher level.
I’m really good at
I climb lead and I ski really well.

I actively try to make a small footprint on the planet.

I unapologeticly try to raise peoples awareness of relevant issues.

I think through the issues around me.

I can dance (more house music free style than partner).

I've baked and cooked professionally and I'm exploring the paleo approach.

Being a friend rather than a social butterfly.

I make people laugh when I know what I'm talking about... and I know how to shut up and listen in a variety of situations.
The first things people usually notice about me
I tend to confuse people when I first meet them. Not on purpose.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Well now, where shall we start...?

Food: Thai, Indian, Bar Be Que, Salads, Bacon, a good Alfredo sauce, Deep Dish Pizza with a Corn Meal Crust - Fennel Sausage and Mushrooms, most if not all vegetables (Okra not withstanding), eggs.

Music: Stuff that makes me want to dance and sing. Born in, of, and to house music (bring on the live drums). I like both pretty and edgy music. I love jazz, Brazilian in particular. Every now and then I need to rock out to the Foo Fighters or the Stones... yes, I said "rock out".
Kimbra's cover of Nina Simone's "Plain Gold Ring" is for lack of a better word: STUNNING.
Joni Mitchell is always on heavy rotation as my mental background music... "They paved paradise, put up a parking lot..." Sergio Mendes and Chick Corea are my Pandora defaults.
I've never been to Burning Man and though I'm curious, I may be a little too old fashion for it all and... I like house music. Not mindless techno.

Movies: I'm a dude so I like movies where things blow up but more often than not I veg out on most things well written: period films, political thrillers, smart romantic comedies, gritty crime films. Sooner than later I'll watch everything the BBC offers on Netflix Streaming.

Books: Political and history please. While I much rather listen to Audiobooks then sit and read paper and print I love sharing a book and reading to someone I care about. Hmmm... haven't done that one in a long while. I like Len Deighton, John Le Carre, Walter Mosley. Back in school I was a fan of E. E. Cummings. Jon Stewart and Huffpost aren't really reading but both are part of my daily diet as are NPR and KQED.

Dance: I'm a sucker for dance... Doin it. Watchin it. Saw Joffery Ballet a few weeks back and going to see Alvin Ailey in April.
Six things I could never do without
6 things...? What young idiot thinks any of us can live with only 6 things?

For me:
Conversation that connects.
My rocket ship... i.e. my car... or my bike.
ATM card and phone.
My apartment.
My climbing harness and climbing shoes.
Skis, boots, and bindings.
Good music.
Good food.
Great stories.
Friends and family who don't mind my dents and bruises.

... and of course air, water, gravity, stable atmospheric pressure, medicine, doctors, etc.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Hmmm... I used to think a lot about how to be a superhero... really. These days I try to fill my idle time keeping people aware of relevant issues i.e. race, justice, equality, and greed. I research history and try to get an understanding of how me got here and how we should move forward.
On a typical Friday night I am
The popular answer would be "out with friends" but really I'm a homebody. If I'm not climbing or working I'm home streaming Netflix. Not terribly sexy I know but it is the truth.

I do like the occasional last minuet call to go to a party or show.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Ummm... I can't stand an unmade bed.
You should message me if
You simply want a gentleman around... human being and all.
The two of us