63Santa Rosa, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Recently, I celebrated my 62nd birthday...yikes! As a distraction/reward, I went to Italy. For 3-plus weeks of bicycling, wandering, wining and dining. Worked for me...

Upon return, I relocated to Santa Rosa, leaving the vortex of Silicon Valley for a better life/work balance. Weekends are a balance of setting up a new home... and exploring Sonoma just out my front door!

I'm hoping the cosmic roullette wheel will find me a match. I think I bring to the conversation some enthusiasm, abit of clever wit, the occasional valuable insight, a curiosity for the world and an appreciation for life. Let's see what happens...;-)
What I’m doing with my life
I'm an Architect with experience in a variety of commercial projects; planning, design, documentation, construction admin. Some travel, but most work is local.

I'm not a spandex maniac, but I enjoy bicycling on weekends (love the meditation of a ride).

I "eat out" 2-3 evenings a week (How about you? I have found this to be a revealing Q...;-)

I'm always planning the next adventure (weekend bike trip or annual int'l trip). Occasionally, I take an evening class (history of Yosemite, backyard botany, sketching, iPhonography...) I have a small circle of friends, and room for a partner in my life.
I’m really good at
Seeing patterns... in the landscape, in business, in people's behavior...
The first things people usually notice about me
My strong shoulders, straight teeth and Midwestern accent? (How's that for self-promotion?...;-)
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I don't have Cable, but get Netflix dvd's (animation, comedy and foreign films). I just finished reading Travels In A Thin Country (Chile), and Quet (Susan Cain). Next up, a retro sci-fi Time Slip (Phillip K. Dick).

Usually, I'm researching an upcoming trip. Two summers ago, I bicycled in No Italy and So Bohemia (my father's heritage). My goal is one international trip a year. In a perfect world, I will find someone with the same attitude so we can explore together!

Then there is foraging for food; I am an omnivore. I enjoy everything from BBQ to Asian Fusion, Italian to Thai... I like it all! I enjoy grilling, stir fry, and composing salads.

My favorite app? Pandora...;-) I listen to all kinds of acid jazz, gypsy, and classical. (Occasionally, I backslide with B52s, Tears For Fears, Lyle Lovett or Steely Dan...I know, I'm all over the map. Our generation was blessed!)
Six things I could never do without
Brothers (the four of us live all over the US but we stay in touch)
Friends (a few valued souls that I have 'a pact' with)
Quiet Hour at Peet's (it might also be the coffee)
Sleep Cycle (without it, the whole circus grinds to a halt)
iPhone (it's like living in the future!)
...that leaves one... I was hoping it could be you...;-)
I spend a lot of time thinking about
I enjoy observing people, marveling at the range of the human experience. As corny as it sounds, I try to find a lesson in everything that happens, good or bad.

I think all of us, at this stage of life and under these conditions (online dating), should be aware by now of our old habits with boy-girl dating rituals, clear about what we want and need, and playful and non-judgemental about this whole crazy business...;-)
Are you with me?!?!
On a typical Friday night I am
Seeking an easy-going transition from the work-a-day world to a more playful in-the-moment mindset. Some nights, it's pizza, wine and a movie; some nights, it's an adventure down in SF, or farther afield...
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I don't think time, or gravity, are constants!...;-)
You should message me if
You like to balance the playful with the thoughtful, enjoy dialogue more than monologue, and find humor and good will most places you look...;-)
The two of us