28 Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Hi, my name's Ellen. I'm quite a shy person and I've never dated before, so I'm pretty nervous about it, but I'd love to meet somebody who I can be with and see what a real relationship feels like.

I think at times I'm half an adult and half a child. I still like to play computer games but I also know that I can't just play those all the time.

The most important thing anybody has to know is that I look after my parents. My mum is half blind and my dad is mentally ill with bad arthritis. It simply means that if I tell you that I can't hang out with you because they need me, it's not an excuse. I believe that looking after them is important and I want to find somebody who can understand and accept that. However, I will try my hardest to make sure that I do have time to be with you.

According to my friends, I am shy, caring, and sweet.
What I’m doing with my life
Currently I'm unemployed as I lost my job due to job cuts. I was on jobseeker's for over a year before becoming my dad's carer instead.

I've studied Japanese at evening classes from 2008-2012. Since these classes are not continuing anymore, I'm starting a new class about Japanese culture instead.
I’m really good at
I'm good with computers and the Internet. I guess you might say I'm a bit of a geek.

Friends tell me that I'm good when they need somebody to just listen, but in their case it's usually just reading, as most of my friends I talk with are on MSN, as I have friends from different parts of the world.
The first things people usually notice about me
I guess my size. I'm not exactly small :P

Also, my hair. I hate having it cut so I just let it grow and it gets pretty long. I think I last had it cut in 2005.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I like a wide variety of movies. I would say my favourites are comedy, romance and horror. Some of my favourite movies are Last Holiday, Memoirs of a Geisha and Kinky Boots. I love Disney films too, my favourite is Beauty and the Beast.

TV shows. Doctor Who, Being Human, Merlin, Torchwood, The Sarah-Jane Adventures, Bonanza, Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Angel, Neighbours, Coronation Street, Power Rangers, The Simpsons, Star Trek: The Next Generation, Thunderbirds. I also like various cartoons and anime: Cardcaptor Sakura, Digimon, Pokemon, Sailor Moon, Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles, Yu-Gi-Oh.

For music, I listen to a lot of Japanese music, as it helps me with my studies. I like the music from Sera Myu (which are the Japanese musicals of Sailor Moon) and I'm a big Steps fan.

For books it's varied. I just read things that get my interest. One of my favourite books is One of the Lucky Ones, by Lucy Ching. I'm a big fan of Harry Potter. I'm currently reading the comic book series Runaways.
I like to read manga series too. The Pokemon manga is very good. I also like Sailor Moon, CardCaptor Sakura, Yu-Gi-Oh, Magical x Miracle, Tokyo Mew Mew, Fruits Basket.

Video games! I love Pokemon, Professor Layton, The Sims (1, 2 and 3), Phoenix Wright, Trace Memory. I'm usually logged into Steam, though I don't have many games there.

Food. My favourite meal is tuna pasta bake. I also really like pizza, and I like foreign food, like Chinese and Japanese. I'm willing to try different foods, as long as they don't have anything that I don't like to eat. I have a strange problem with mashed potato, as I can only eat it in Shepherd's Pie. Anything else just makes me ill.
The six things I could never do without
Laptop - If I don't have a connection to the Internet, I feel lost since most of my friends are on here. Plus a load of files.

Computer games - Where I go, my Nintendo 3DS goes. I like to carry around a few games with me just in case I feel the need for a little gaming when I'm out and about.

Music - I like listening to music when I'm doing things, such as gaming, reading, writing, etc.

TV - Okay, bit of a TV addict. I like to keep up with my favourite programmes, especially murder mysteries (with my favourite being Diagnosis Murder) and Doctor Who.

My collections of memorabilia from Bonanza and Thunderbirds - I just have always liked to collect things, and Thunderbirds is the one thing that I've collected the most from.

Tissues - Bit of a weird one! I use to have a lot of nosebleeds when I was younger, and they tend to freak me a little just in case I have a really bad one, so I always try and keep a pack of tissues in my bag just in case.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
I wonder a lot about if I will get a job. Things aren't going well, even though I've been applying for a lot of work. I'm still hoping.

I wonder about my dad's health as winter is coming up and his arthritis gets worse during the cold.

I wonder if I will meet somebody who one day will make me think 'I love this person and I want this relationship to work and maybe grow into something bigger'
On a typical Friday night I am
Usually at home! I don't drink and I don't like big crowds with loud music so I don't go out to clubs and bars. I prefer a night in, maybe watch a movie, play video games or read, and I'm usually on the Internet a lot.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Well, I'm not going to share something that's very private, because I would find that weird, and I'd like to get to know someone before I told them things that are more intimate.

I guess the only thing that I'm willing to admit is that I spend far too much time on the Internet. I like to spend hours playing computer games and just general surfing around different websites.
You should message me if
You'd like to chat and maybe meet up, perhaps for a casual drink/meal.

Of course if you're a Pokemon fan, I'd suggest meeting up for a Pokemon battle.