49Evanston, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm smart, thoughtful, creative, adventurous, active, and a good listener. I am an academic by profession, but have an activist side that is growing. I travel internationally a fair amount for work and for fun, and love exploring new places, at home or away. I am easy-going and don't get bothered when things don't go as planned--either I am that way naturally or I have learned that from working in places like Moscow and Cairo. I love laughing at the funny things about daily life.
What I’m doing with my life
Working at a great job that allows me to pretty much decide what I want to do. Figuring out what it is that I want to do in my job. Running along the lake with my dog, and thinking about preparing for a marathon. Meeting new people in the hopes of finding the right match.

Also, I'm on the board of a large animal shelter/welfare organization in Cairo, and have founded a charitable organization in the US to support that work in Egypt.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books are my work: I read, write, and teach them, and they can take over my home and office sometimes. For fun reading, I am in a Russian mood right now, classics and contemporary. If you have read Andrei Makine and liked him, let me know. The New Yorker is usually a joy too.

I tend towards independent and foreign films. I missed the Chicago International Film Festival this year, but next year I might just try to watch every film. Man of Iron and Man of Steel are two old favorites from Poland. Current comfort films for me are Train Station for Two (a Soviet-era romantic comedy) and The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel (if that doesn't put you in a good mood, nothing will). Moscow Does Not Believe in Tears; Four Months, Three Weeks, and Two Days. I want to see more Spanish-language movies. I tend to like British television: Coupling, Downton Abbey.

The Chicago Diner, Native Foods, Mexican/Tex-Mex (I grew up in Texas and ate it pretty much everyday, so a black bean burrito for me is confort food), just about anything Asian (north, south, east, or west, such as Indian, Thai, Chinese, Malay/Indonesian), Ras Dashen (no other Ethiopian restaurant in Chicago comes close), sweet potato fries. I will try anything--just not meat. That's just my preference, but it doesn't have to be yours.
Six things I could never do without
Soy chai lattes
Books, movies, music (seems fair to put it all under one heading)
Laptop and blackberry (likewise)
My dog Lola (although she is emphatically not a thing)
Running shoes
My passport
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Pretty much everything I have written about here, and much more. But I also value, and am trying to do more of, taking a break from thinking, whether by exercise, meditation, or music.
You should message me if
You are self-aware enough to know what being honest and open means and to know why it matters so much; you are curious about the world; you are a combination of serious and silly; you want to learn from me and want me to learn from you; you would enjoy helping me figure out what kind of large-screen television to get
The two of us