28 Oxford, United Kingdom
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Half English, half Norwegian, and now seem to be stuck in Oxford, which is OK with me.

In a happy, 'monogamish' relationship with a woman I love deeply. Looking to explore new connections with new people in a spirit of adventure and honesty. I'm an openminded individual, attentive, caring and friendly. More recently I am exploring the more adventurous parts of myself.

Summarizing myself otherwise seems difficult. I'm generally happy and pursuing joy and balance in all aspects of my life, and, probably for the better, turning into a bit of a hippy. For everything else, see the next section :)
What I’m doing with my life
I've recently finished my PhD in pure mathematics (that's the kind of maths which kills most conversations if you try to explain what it's all about) and am now transitioning into climate modelling with a post-doc at Oxford working on developing the next generation of climate change models. I am passionate about environmental issues generally and am determined to make a difference with my research.

I am a recently qualified vinyasa yoga teacher, and teach a few classes a week currently. As you might guess, I also practice a fair amount of yoga during the week. I am quite sporty in general and besides yoga play a lot of badminton and do various other exercises.

Music is another passion of mine. Once upon a time I was going to be a professional classical guitarist but now I just try to maintain a repertoire of Bach fugues. I also like to play with others, singing some Simon and Garfunkel or Neil Young around a bonfire. I try to drum on my djembe when I can too which is a lot of fun!

I love dancing and make sure to go out to do that fairly regularly! Otherwise I just dance in the living room.

Nature is important to me too, and when I miss the wilderness of Norway too much I make a visit back home and go hiking in the mountains there. When in Oxford I settle with some of the lovely woods around here :)

I am also trying to maintain a more consistent meditation practice, though this is proving quite tough. Still, it feels very meaningful to me so I'll persevere!
I’m really good at
Being far too competitive in games of Risk (or any game really).

Not being embarrassed to ask stupid questions.

Being the first person on the dancefloor.

Listening and communicating. Being affectionate.
The first things people usually notice about me
I look uncannily like a reincarnated Christopher Marlowe (google him!) Actually this is more like the first thing people who know me usually notice about Christopher Marlowe, but anyway.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Some of my favourite novelists: Hermann Hesse (especially "The Glass Bead Game"), Margaret Atwood (I'll weep the day I run out of books of hers to read), Haruki Murakami, Orhan Pamuk, Isaac Asimov, Umberto Eco and Vladimir Nabokov. Also a big Lord of the Rings (now have beautiful Folio editions of all the Tolkien works, wohoo!). Oh, and Theodore Zeldin's "An Intimate History of Humanity"!

Some of my favourite film directors: Kubrick, Kieslowski, Kurosawa, Bergman, any film with a script written by Charlie Kaufman, David Lynch, Coen Brothers. Plus too many other specific films to mention.

Favourite shows: The Wire, Battlestar Galactica, The Office (UK), Spaced, Sopranos, Big Train, Extras, The Thick of It, etc.

Favourite music: loads of jazz (Coltrane, Jarrett, Mehldau, Scofield, etc.) and classical (especially Bach, Bartok and Stravinsky). Also bands like First Aid Kit, Haim, and singers like Bjork, Fiona Apple, Joanna Newsom, Joni Mitchell, Lyla Foy etc. Electronic music like Jon Hopkins, Botany, Four Tet, Matthew Dear, Caribou, Lindstrom, etc. etc. Too many to name really.

I'm very passionate about trying to experience great art in general. My general philosophy is there's too much great art in the world and not nearly enough time to experience it all, but I'm gonna try anyway. Always up for recommendations of new stuff.
The six things I could never do without
Wild nature to hike in.
Family and friends.
Physical activity/sports.
A room to retreat to.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
My research, yoga poses, my next meal, and reminding myself of upcoming social events (my diary exists only in my head). People I love.
On a typical Friday night I am
Depending on the time of the month, I might be out at a full moon fire with friends and strangers, playing a drum or a guitar before swimming in the river. If the moon is not full, I might be out in a club, hanging out with my flatmates, or just resting, if the social events are scheduled for the next day instead.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I've written a sizeable number of love poems.
You should message me if
Any of the above strikes a chord I suppose.

Also you need to not be fazed by the fact that I'm in a relationship with a woman I plan to settle down with (she's here if you're interested: Bodhi_lizard).