58Chapel Hill, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I have traveled extensively ,through most of Latin America and a good portion Asia.I studied romance languages at U.W. Madison and economics at U.N.C .Chapel Hill .At present I am researching career options .I lived in Costa Rica for 5 years . I speak spanish fluently. I like most types of music . I read for entertainment ,I try to write every day when possible .My favorite authors are Faulkner, Mark Twain, Hemingway ,Gabriel Garcia Marquez .I like literature in translation ,because it gives insight in to the thinking of other cultures. I have two daughters ,they don't live with me ,they are growing up into women.I love them both,one will be top of her class and has never gotten anything less than an A ,neurotic like me? The other is happy go lucky still honor roll but wants to be a chef.

I am intelligent, revolutionary, and existential.
What I’m doing with my life
Editing this profile.I should have revisited it sooner.I am working for a non-for profit,working in the field of urban agriculture and the sustainability movement.teaching writing and writing every moment that have free.The challenges of the last couple have years has force me to pursue interest I always had but never took the risk to try.I write poetry and am preparing an anthology of it ,I am finally finishing my second novel (I hate editing) ,the first was just to see if I had the patience to write one.
Basically enjoying all the challenges that are coming my way.I find if you I Try to make everything in life art if is more or less fun.
I also have started a company to promote low impact landscapes,using less water and few chemical. It is in it infancy.
I’m really good at
People say that I am a good cook but I prefer cooking for more than one person. I am good at writing. I am good at learning other languages. Making people feel comfortable around me. I am good at backpacking and have done so in many different countries, I think I am good understanding different cultures and adapting to them. I like to grow things,it connects me with the natural world ,I prefer organic gardening. I am good at problem solving, but am trying to teach myself to be a better listener.

Whitewater rafting,fly fishing,I especially enjoy offshore fly fishing ,my twin brother has recently move back to Costa Rica to run a sportsfishing boat there and I can't wait to get free to go down and go fishing with him.
The first things people usually notice about me
That I am honest and straightforward, usually comfortable speaking to people about my experiences in life, that I am politically active and believe in a world view. My silver bracelet from Myanmar (formerly known as Burma) was given to me by the Shan people and is supposed to be a talisman. I never take it off except to go through metal detectors. I am not really superstitious but it seems to be lucky. I am passionate about things I believe in, but try not to be judgmental and try to listen to other people's opinions. I am 6 feet tall, average in build, with hazel eyes. I usually have a tan from spending a lot of time outdoors. I like to talk about books I am reading. I am told that I am extroverted, and I enjoy meeting new people.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
My favorite books One Hundred Years Of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia
Marquez ,Ihave read it in english and Spanish ,most recently I've
read Death Of Sweet Mister by Daniel Woodrell it was dark yet
complex. MY favorite movies are Apocalypse Now, Wise Blood based on
a Flannery O'Conner short story, I loved "Midnight in Paris." I like most funny movies if they
make me laugh. I like ceviche which I learned to make living in
Costa Rica, I like most asian foods; Indian, Thai, Vietnamese ect.
I like most rock music, raggae, grunge like Nirvana, Latin American
music like Buena Vista Social Club .
Six things I could never do without
1) my daughters
2) freedom of speech
3)the ability to write
6)challenges ,they keep me focused
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Politics and its effects on the future of the world . Justice and
human rights. How to find happiness in an insane world.What I
ultimately want to do with the rest of my life. How to improve my
writing with out losing its edge.What I can do to make a difference
in the future that is socially relevant. This time around finding a
partner that can appreciate my vision and wants to be apart of it,
even if it means packing up and moving to another country to try to
make a difference and to be happy.I have seemed to be happiest
living abroad. Why in a country as rich as the US there is such
inequity in the distribution of wealth, and why all other civilized
nations can afford universal health coverage. Why the US is called
a democracy when it is a republic.
On a typical Friday night I am
I am hanging out with a friend. Making a special meal. Writing or reading, or sometimes going out to see music or a movie. Right now I'm not involved in a relationship so I try to keep myself busy.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I like to Write everyday for catharsis ,at some point I will share it but it is a window into my soul.I write to be introspective.That I can share the stories I write after I get to trust someone which is an absurdity if I am going to publish
You should message me if
If you are not right of Clinton in politics, can see the absurd nature of American culture /obscene materialism. If you enjoy dark humor, love metaphors, and can understand I have a tendency to say things only for the shock value, although I can believe things that might shock some people.
Realize that sometimes I think I am doing stand up comedy.
After being on this site for a while ,I would add that you are somewhat serious about meeting someone,this chatting and texting thing gets a bit old after awhile.
The two of us