43 Gaithersburg, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Summary of myself, let’s see…… I’m a laid back lady with a great personality I believe and I can hold a conversation with anyone. I don’t profess to be something I’m not and I’m real from head to toe. I’m originally from the mid-west and or some consider it to be southern – Houston, Texas that is, so my roots are not at all East Coast though I have adapted over the years I have been in the DC Metro area.

Mostly I’m comfortable wearing jeans and a tee-shirt, but can put on heels and a dress/skirt and wear them well with the best of them.

I enjoy hanging with friends and family and catching a good movie when I can. Although, there’s a lot to do in the area, the majority of the things to do are more fun with someone verses by oneself. I have been single for awhile now and while one gets use to being by themselves I definitely would like to have someone to go places with and do things with. I have fun with my family and female friends, but there’s no substitute for the male persuasion and the conversation/point of view. Although, dating in the DC Metro area is not the easiest to navigate, so that’s what has brought me to the okCupid site not to mention time as that’s a factor too these days with the busy schedules most professionals in the area have.

Some other mentions about me are I’m very competitive and if I set my mind to something that’s it, I will achieve and accomplish the goal. Some other activities I enjoy are working out, a good run in my neighborhood (I have to get back to it), concerts, museums, wine tastings, reading in my spare time, writing in my journal (I have aspirations to publish in the future), road trips, traveling places I have never been before, and sports (football and basketball are my past times when I’m able to watch).

Last but not least I’m a hard worker when it comes to business, but I play hard too when it comes to having fun.
What I’m doing with my life
I work in Human Resources and the role I have keeps me pretty busy, to say the least. When I’m not working, I’m usually looking for ways to self improve and make my life better whether it’s mentally, physically, spiritually or monetarily. I believe that we all are capable of more than our day jobs, so besides my aspirations to write and publish, I am often brainstorming of other ways to collaborate with friends on tasks and forever networking. I love to network and think our technology we have today opens up so many avenues to do so.
I’m really good at
Hmmmmm......I'm really good at baking I would say. I like to dibble and dabble a bit in the kitchen every now and then. There are other things I'm good at, but I'll let you find that out should you take the opportunity to get to know me better.
The first things people usually notice about me
I believe my smile and warm personality are the first things people notice about me.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
One of my favorite books is The Great Gatsby and anything from African American Literature given I was an English major and my concentration was African American Literature. Also, recently read a motivational book called Don’t Die in Your Winter, which I enjoyed.

Some of my favorite movies include: Christmas Vacation, The Dark Night, The Wedding Planner, Hang Over I and II (not so sure III was the best in comparison), Star Trek the remake, and Return of the Jedi (I'm across the spectrum really when it comes to film from romantics to sci-fi to dramas, so this list could go on and on).

TV shows include now: The Walking Dead series (sad, but I'm hooked can't wait till next season), Scandal, Suburgatory, Modern Family, Once Upon a Time, Revenge, and I just recently started watching the The Have And The Have Nots.

Janet Jackson is one of my favorite performers so any of her music especially from The Velvet Rope and All For You, I enjoy. I enjoy other artists too, but if I told all of them, there would be nothing else left to find out regarding my music taste. Also, jazz, pop, gospel and hip hop (my music taste does not lack variety) are all music I listen to.

I love seafood and one of my favorite soups is lobster bisque. I enjoy the chicken frontega sandwich from Panera, the Southwestern chopped chicken salad at Corner Bakery and Potbelly's turkey on wheat with hot peppers. Also, there's a good sushi spot I venture to with my co-workers every now in then. I have been cooking a bit more these days, so I have not been eating out too much, trying to budget more.
The six things I could never do without
God I certainly can't do without, though to me God really is not a thing and is so much bigger than that and can’t be compartmentalized.
Food, water, clothes and shelter (all needed for survival)
Flat iron and microwave oven
my car
iPhone now that I have finally got one :-)

I know I cheated and there's more than six. :-) Don't hold it against me.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Actually, just self improvement really, I don't try to dwell on too much in terms of what's to come because one should live in the moment.
On a typical Friday night I am
I'm homeward bound getting ready to enjoy the weekend most Friday nights. Usually I'm relaxing on a Friday night to be quite honest. Occasionally, I will go to a happy hour with friends or dinner.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Hmmmm......most private thing I'm willing to admit? I think I'll leave that private and share that with the one of whom I catch their eye and vice versa ;-).

Two things most people don't know are: I am a Words with Friends junkie and I still have my childhood teddy bear.
You should message me if
You're someone who likes to try new things and would like to date, get to know one another, and explore the possibilities of more to come.