28La Jolla, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Hello! I'm a third year math PhD student at UCSD trying to meet people outside my department. Help me do so! I am a Nebraska native (Go Huskers!) who moved here 2.5 years ago for grad school.

I stay pretty active. I play tennis weekly, ultimate frisbee semiweekly and intramural football and basketball when the season's right. I also took surfing lessons this past fall and loved it! Sadly I have gone hiking a mere 3 times since moving here - this must change.

One part of academia that I really enjoy are the opportunities to travel abroad. So far my advisor has sent me to conferences in Budapest, Hungary and Pisa, Italy. Both times I stayed for a couple weeks and traveled around. It was amazing! I also enjoy reading, writing and arithmetic, binging on a tv series, dancing, supporting my 2 sports teams and lying in my hammock.
What I’m doing with my life
Grad student by day, and, well .. grad student by night.

Although this is changing. Now that I'm in my third year my night's and weekends are usually math-free.
I’m really good at
Catching spontaneously falling objects. (Salt shaker rolls off the table, something's dropped, etc.. Those years of watching Jackie Chan must finally be paying dividends.)
The first things people usually notice about me
I honestly have never thought about this. I don't know, but I am now curious. You tell me!
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
When I was young I was very good at picking favorites. Some time in my early teens, though, I'm afraid I lost this ability.

So for books: when I was really young I would have said this picture book about animals was my favorite. When I was in middle school I'd have said Harry Potter. When I was in high school I'd probably still have said Harry Potter. Today…? Who knows. I'm just read Ender's Game and loved it. I am reading The Count of Monte Cristo now now which I'm also really enjoying.

For movies this progression was: Space Jam --> Rush Hour --> ?? Some that come to mind are Good Will Hunting, The Dark Knight, and just about anything Pixar makes.

Shows: The Daily Show, Arrested Development, Seinfeld, M*A*S*H, Dexter, Breaking Bad.. I also enjoy the standard sitcom-style shows like Parks and Rec, 30 Rock, and How I met your Mother. Been meaning to watch The BBC's Sherlock.

Music: Not too picky. I like just about everything except the really intense stuff. When I listen it is usually via a car radio, pandora, or 8Tracks.

Food: Hash House a Go Go's breakfast. Also sushi, seafood, Thai food, San Diego burritos and Nebraska sweet corn.
Six things I could never do without
Something interesting to think about
An airport
Nearby nature
My central nervous system
I spend a lot of time thinking about
School stuff, I suppose.

I also have a few long-term projects which take up a fair bit of my brain time.
On a typical Friday night I am
Varies. Hanging with friends, exploring San Diego, enjoying a cold beer, watching Netflix, cooking a good meal...
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
It bothers me when smiley faces are printed with a left parenthesis. It's backwards! :-)
You should message me if
You like to have fun. You enjoy exploring the world, whether that be via a first-person adventure or through Wikipedia. You like spontaneity. Bonus if you like hiking or tennis or trying new SD beers or coffee shops.
The two of us