60 Norristown, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Self-sufficient, financially independent woman who is enjoying life and would appreciate that special someone to share it with. I enjoy traveling, photography, listening to (singing along with) live bands, gardening, cooking, baking (yes, there is a difference), fishing, and riding my motorcycle. Do we share any of the same interests? I am also open to different interests. I love to learn about and experience new things.

Regarding the "work" photo... I have two degrees (in other fields) but work in an oil refinery in order to pay the bills and manage a comfortable lifestyle.

FYI - I cannot see if you "like" my profile so please send a message if you like what you see or are looking for a response. :-)
What I’m doing with my life
Enjoying it! Traveling. Staying in touch with my friends and family. Helping out if needed. Sharing a few laughs with friends when I can.Totally enjoying my job and the people I work with. Getting set up for retirement some day. Looking for someone to share lives, experiences with.

Tried getting back into the "gym thing". It didn't last. Have a treadmill now and it's working out great! Also tracking my steps. Goal is 10K minimum per day.

My latest endeavor is learning to play the bagpipes. Lessons started in July of 2015 and totally enjoying them plus the people I'm meeting through them! Just started learning to play the actual bagpipe itself. That involves a whole different set of techniques than the practice chanter. Lord, what did I get myself into?!?! LOL!
I’m really good at
cooking a mean pot roast (for you meat and potato guys). Cookies, breads, and pies are also on the list (I've become sort of the "cookie Mom" at work) and I love making Thanksgiving dinner. I'm a decent photographer but do it for the fun. I try to be a good listener and I've given some decent backrubs over the years. If you need a "go-fer" on a project, I have lots of experience there too.
The first things people usually notice about me
My eyes, my smile, and my accent. I was born in Rochester, NY then transplanted to Philly area in late 1999. People here say I talk "funny". (I think the same thing about them!) ;-)
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: I am a Sci-Fi/Fantasy addict. I also enjoy some stories based on historical facts. Steven King scared the you-know-what out of me after the first couple books so I don't read scary stuff any more. Love William Shakespeare's plays and have a leather bound book of his works which I've read more than once. The classics rock!

Movies: My favorite movies follow suit but with comedies and musicals added in the mix. I also love the old black and white movies on TCM channel (especially comedies with Cary Grant, Katherine Hepburn, Jimmy Stewart, etc.) Oh, and some "chick flicks" too (like "Under the Tuscan Sun", "Nights in Rodanthe" [Gear is to-die-for!], "The Holiday", "The Bucket List"...)

Shows: My DVR list is as follows... NCIS (DC & NOLA), Elementary, Grimm, Blue Bloods, Madam Secretary, Lost Girl, The Librarians, Haven, Perception, Defiance. Still trying to decide if Supergirl stays or goes. NOVA is a great show and usually the Science channel has something interesting on. Don't think I spend my life in front of the TV tho. The DVR is set for new releases only and I usually catch up on them just before bed or when I take a "couch-potato day". I would TOTALLY be taping "Game Of Thrones" if I had HBO. LOVED the books!

Hoping to see some stage shows in the city in 2016. Rumor has it that we will finally be getting our scheduled days off instead of overtime that year. Would like to do an overnight in NYC sometime, also.

Music: Rock/Southern Rock, Blues, Zydeco, Classical, Alternative, and Country are all music I like to listen to depending on my mood. No rap! Limited Jazz. Some local groups I enjoy going out to see are Blackthorn and Dr. Ben's Backbone Blues Band. I also enjoy dressing up and going out to listen to the Philadelphia Orchestra on occasion. I especially enjoy them at the Mann Center when they accompany movies with the music track!

Food is in a state of flux at the moment. My favorites are steak, crab legs, prime rib, turkey, and generally whatever is bad for me. LOL! Not usually a picky eater and open to trying ethnic foods. I've been exploring Thai food for a while. Exercising and watching what I eat now to avoid going on cholesterol lowering meds (It's hell getting old!) and to get ready for my youngest daughter's wedding in August 2016.
The six things I could never do without
Family, friends, hope, music, laughter, travel, my dogs, and duct tape (the most wonderful invention ever made). I know it's eight but I like to push the limits. LOL!
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Where to go on my next vacation or weekend off and why so many people look at my profile but don't say "Hello". (Especially the ones who are "matches")
On a typical Friday night I am
Either at work, out with friends, enjoying one of the many forms of entertainment available, or relaxing at home with my two doggies. Have to add practicing on the chanter/bagpipes now. :-)
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Well, then it wouldn't be private any more..... Maybe I'll tell you one day when I know you better.
You should message me if
you are within 50 miles and are brave enough! (I admire a man willing to make the first move.) Also, if you are still active and looking to live life. (There are still so many interesting places to see, things to do, and people to meet.)