68Winchester, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary

I am an eclectic individual with a zest for traveling, exploring, experiencing, and learning about new places, peoples, and cultures. Outdoor oriented activities include biking, hiking, camping, and boating. Also, I enjoy cooking, antiquing, reading, gardening, dancing, photography, gold panning, skating….just about anything at least once. I am gregarious, sincere, and trustworthy.

Other areas of interest include attending music and cultural events, visiting museums, and experiencing exotic restaurants.

Healthy living and being active are extremely important, which includes visiting the gym on a regular basis. I am excited about experiencing life’s offerings and those wonderful opportunities that present themselves, near and far.


Hoping to find that special person/companion/adventurer/soul mate to share life’s adventures with; someone to confide in, laugh with, and learn from.


My career was mostly spent as a U.S. Park Ranger with the National Park Service and I worked last at Chesapeake and Ohio Canal National Historical Park as a Land Resources Officer. This involved managing all land-related issues and park planning. My 35 year career also involved working at other locations around the nation for the Department of the Interior, National Park Service. Park planning brought me to many to be established parks nationwide. During this wonderful career, I also served in numerous qualified capacities on wild land forest fires and all risk disasters including Hurricane Katrina and the Gulf Oil Spill.

Blessed with adventure, even through my early years, I had the opportunity to live in Germany as an Army brat, and visited many countries on vacations; would love to go back.

In retirement, I currently work part time at the Virginia State Arboretum and pursue photography especially landscape and nature.


Graduated with a Bachelor degree in Geology from the State University of New York at Plattsburgh and was working towards a Masters in Park and Recreation Management (emphasis on Tourism) at George Mason University. Also, I attended a Merchant Marine College for two years and studied Marine Transportation and Oceanography, giving me a taste for adventure.
What I’m doing with my life

My long, fulfilling career with the National Park Service was a dream, where I feel I made a difference in helping acquire and protect unique natural and cultural resources to be enjoyed by all. It was a very rewarding job, but I decided to retire in 2011, after serving for 35 years, to begin other adventures/pursuits. Periodically, I work part-time work as a volunteer at my former park as well as at the Virginia State Arboretum, an incredible place.


Photography is one of my favorite recreational pursuits and I especially enjoy landscape photography. I belong to several local photography clubs, take photography courses, and explore new places to learn about and photograph. Some of my images are posted on Flickr at:

Fishing, boating, biking, and hiking are other favorite activities which give me the opportunity to explore.


Travel is in my blood, having explored the west and desert southwest as well as other areas of the United States and many of our country’s National Parks nationwide while on business and for pleasure. International destinations are visited on occasion, including Costa Rica and Mexico. I have considered visiting Belize, Panama, Peru, and Chile. Cuba has also been on my mind as an awesome place to visit; perhaps someday that will be a possibility.
I’m really good at
Culinary pursuits are important, and I am an aspiring photographer. I am a good conversationalist and make new friends readily; a people oriented person!
The first things people usually notice about me
I love life and it shows! I have great sense of humor, an infectious laugh, am affable, and I've been told I have a great personality. Love to hang out with people, and I am always there for a friend.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food

My favorite books are mostly non-fiction, fictional history, and rereading many of the classics. I especially enjoy history, natural/physical sciences, and photography-oriented books. I have a library chocked full of these and have recently started reading Kindle Books on my new tablet where so many of the classics can be downloaded for free. I love that; I love to read!


I attend movies occasionally when not doing other activities and enjoy all types of movies.


Other than rap, my tastes for music are incredibly varied ranging from folk, country, classical, classic rock, to new age genres. Music feed and soothes my soul. Currently, I am trying my luck with a Banjo.


I especially like Thai, Indian, and Moroccan food and like to seek out exotic restaurants locally and when I travel. I do not shy away from spicy and unfamiliar dishes, and also love to cook in my rather spacious kitchen.
Six things I could never do without
1) Family/friends
2) Love
3) My camera
4) Recreational time
5) The opposite sex
6) Good health
I spend a lot of time thinking about
I spend a lot of time thinking about:

My family and friends, their health and welfare.
My next adventure
How to improve my photography
How to make a positive impact in all that I do
And last but not least, that special person I hope to meet some day.
On a typical Friday night I am
Hanging out with friends, watching a band, dancing etc. Love the night life on weekends
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I am lonely at times but if you ask me I will not admit to it.
You should message me if
... you are interested in pursuing an active lifestyle centered around adventure, travel, learning, and photography, I feel these would be good starting elements for a potential match.

I am attracted to intellect, a great sense of humor, and those who are lean towards positive, happy, and uplifting outcomes in all that they do!
The two of us