LaughLearn
67 Cleveland, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
LaughLearn
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Ladies, check these off your list:

-Sense of humor: I write humor and perform comedy. I use humor in everyday life to reduce stress at work, relax uptight people, and to make conversation interesting -- but mostly to get laughs.
-Kind: I practice both random and routine acts of kindness.
-Faithful: I was 100% loyal through 20 years of marriage.
-Open-minded: I never close.
-Intellectual: lots of college, Spanish immersion school in Mexico and Costa Rica, always reading. I want to keep learning until I die.
-Easy-going: Small stuff? No sweat! And 99.2% of it is small stuff.
-Trustworthy: You'll have to trust me on this one.
-Active/healthy: I love outdoor stuff, especially with a partner. Sports that require coordination? I watch, and spend a lot of energy cheering. At puzzles and games, tho, I kick butt. Bridge is my main game. I love to compete at the highest level.
-Good listener: I'm sorry, what? Really tho, listening means learning something new. Fun, fun, fun!
-Financially secure: I have money, time, and a wanderlust. Let's go places!
-Tall, thin, hard-bodied? OOPS! No. And here I was doing so well. I'm cute, tho.
-Honest: I don't make this stuff up.

I love to listen to live music, all kinds, and sing. I often break into song in normal conversation, but have learned to control this when necessary.
I want to share laughs, travel, good food, music and arts, outdoor fun and quiet times with a sharp-minded, affectionate, kind, happy woman.
What I’m doing with my life
I spent a month in Costa Rica in winter 2013, Mexico the winter before that. This winter I stayed home. Big mistake! I'm the shadow for Ohio's groundhog. If I'm still around on February 2, Beware!

I am retired from various professions: librarian, technical writer, editor, stand-up comic.

I play and teach bridge and teach chess in elementary schools. I have writing projects (mostly humor), and my latest one looks like it may get published! The joy is in the writing. And performing.

I walk/hike in the Metroparks or wherever every day.
I’m really good at
Making people laugh, and appreciating the humor of others
writing
singing, sight-reading, harmonizing
playing bridge and Scrabble,
learning stuff,
Easing interpersonal tension, treating others kindly
The first things people usually notice about me
I'm usually laughing or singing.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
books: Science, humor, bridge (game) books, Clan of the Cave Bear series, Watership Down, Oliver Sacks, Greg Iles;

Movies: City Lights, Casablanca, The Man Who Would Be King, The Court Jester, The Red Violin, The Commitments, Little Big Man, My Name is Khan, Heat;

TV: Jeopardy!, NFL;

Music: a capella, jazz, classical, R&B, classic R&R, blues, gospel, folk, most others;

Food: Soup, Thai, Mexican, Greek, Italian, Chicken paprikas, rhubarb pie, home cooking (mine & yours)
The six things I could never do without
Music
Laughter
Family
water recreation
good food
travel
I could do without coffee, but I might go through serious withdrawal
I spend a lot of time thinking about
whatever I'm studying/learning at the present
my next love
songs
jokes/stories/humorous situations
bridge hands
politics/social morality
On a typical Friday night I am
I have no typical Friday night.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
It's so private I don't even know what it is. But I'll admit it.
You should message me if
You have an active, stimulating mind.
you love to laugh
you enjoy various kinds of music, especially live
you enjoy non-luxury travel and have some time for it
you have compassion but don't take life too seriously
you are kind and affectionate
More