35Chelsea, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Okay, first thing's first - full disclosure, I'm from the Boston area, but I live in the DC area now. However, I tend to visit home a lot, and really don't have my people to hang out with up here anymore, so I'm using this as a way to meet new people. Plus, after 10 years in DC, I really miss my family, so I'm strongly considering a move home in February after I wrap up my most recent project at work.

Okay, now that that's out of the way...
I love to be outdoors, hiking, camping, riding horses, doing just about anything with my dog - I'm a big dog kind of girl, btw, I have a a mastiff, who is kind of a BAMF. I've recently started camping much more often and I've started doing some caving as well - the dog comes too :) I also do photography and really like to cook (I'm Jewish and's a disownable offense in my family if you can't cook). I love to travel (Nashville was probably my favorite US destination, and I had a great experience in Ecuador) and have had some pretty cool adventures in the past few years, but now that I'm out of grad school and working full time, those haven't happened as much - I would love to meet someone who wants to explore with me - whether it's around the world, or just pulling off to see where the brown signs on the highway lead to.

I have a pretty goofy sense of humor and love to joke around - life is too short to be serious all the time. That being said, I'm actually incredibly responsible and tend to "do the right thing" more often than not. I think life is about having a good balance. I'm the type of person who got thrown off a horse, fractured my spine in 3 places, and asked people to pick me up and put me back on the horse so I wouldn't be afraid to ride again. They decided it was a bad idea to move me at the time, but I still got back on as soon as I could. I'm also the type of person who faced one of my biggest fears in Alaska, and refused to stop facing it until I was successful...

I think I'm best described as a dichotomous person, and I've learned that I need that from a counterpart as well. I need someone who can be comfortable getting dressed up and going out to a really nice dinner and appreciate (yes, actually appreciate) going to the theater on a Friday night, and then throw the camping gear in the car on Saturday morning. I've tried dating strictly city boys or strictly country boys before, and it just doesn't work...I need to satisfy both those sides of my life.

So one thing I've noticed about these profiles, is sometimes you see one you like, but don't have a clue where to start the conversation - so I'll give you a few options for things you can ask me:
- how I "died" in Alaska
- swimming with sharks in Galapagos (they're fish!)
- A really awesome teaching experience I had with a program called Ocean for Life
- the night I was convinced an escaped convict would break into my tent while I was camping and hold me hostage
What I’m doing with my life
Visiting Boston :)

I went to school for documentary filmmaking with a concentration in environmental and wildlife films - I currently work making museum media, which is pretty neat.
I’m really good at
i have a natural knack with animals and kids. I used to be a teacher and it's something I'm really passionate about. I'll probably go back into that field at some point in my life. I'm pretty decent at cooking, I can actually hold a conversation, and I tend to make people laugh.

Also, I make insanely good carnitas.
The first things people usually notice about me
my eyes - they change color with my moods.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I just finished reading Pillars of the Earth and loved it.
As for music - I'm a huge country music fan. I went to Nashville last year and loved every second of being there and would definitely love to go again. Also, the project I've been working on at work for the past year and a half has given me a love for all things bluegrass, and I would definitely love to hit up some bluegrass festivals in the near future.
Food - I'm Jewish and Italian, I like me some food. Both my parents are amazing cooks, and I know my way around a kitchen, so I definitely get excited about good food, but I don't stick my nose up at a hot dog at the ball park either - and Camden Yards don't have a thing on Fenway.
Six things I could never do without
- my pets
- my iphone...I used to have a droid...and now I have seen the light
- my family
- affection
- random adventures
I spend a lot of time thinking about
What's the next adventure I'm going to have
On a typical Friday night I am
There's really no typical Friday night. In Baltimore, I like to go swing dancing on Fridays - I'd love to check out the swing dance scene in Boston. Sometimes Friday nights mean I'm on the road to some camp site or another. Sometimes it means I'm crashed on my couch with my dog after a long week of work.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm not Irish, but I love Irish music and checking out local Irish bar bands - and going to Irish festivals….and plaid
You should message me if
You think we'd have fun out together, and don't mind being a penpal for the rest of the time I'm not in Boston
The two of us