58Lewes, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I am looking for someone to share my evolving life -- someone who enjoys traveling and exploring new places, is well read and has time to spend creating experiences together. During my career I have lived in Nashville, Wilmington, Richmond, Wilmington and Philadelphia (and now Ohio) and have traveled to many beautiful, historic, and fun places in the world for business and pleasure. Now I'm ready to live the beach life . . . built a house in Lewes March 2012 and still getting settled full-time into the beach lifestyle -- sunrise, walks on the beach, going to the farmer's market, wine tastings at Bin 66 (or my cellar), grilling on the patio, sunsets. I am an intelligent, healthy, independent woman that is probably a little too serious, well maybe a little too independent too. I'm working on spontaneous, but that will probably always be a stretch for me, more of a planner. Enjoy casual cycling, yoga, the beach, getting lost in novels, cooking, wine, some gardening, travel, hanging out with friends. I'd like to be good at photography, but need to devote time to learn the art.
What I’m doing with my life
Was trying to decide if I was unemployed (that sounded so desperate) or retired (that sounded too old), but then, in Oct I interviewed and accepted a job (in Ohio! at least temporarily). I enjoy an on-the-go lifestyle, in fact, not sure where work really fits in other than to fund funtime. I have been busy settling into my home and making new friends in Lewes and Rehoboth Beach, DE. Would like to find someone that shares common interests, esp. the beach, travel and fitness activities.
I’m really good at
I am a good friend and very good at taking care of other people. I am an amazing hostess and my informal 'bed and breakfast' is oftened booked.
The first things people usually notice about me
My eyes -- very expressive. Change from blue to aqua to green. Also my smile.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Food -- Italian, really all foods except spicy
Wine -- Love Oregon Pinot Noirs, wines from Tuscany, California Cabs, etc.
Music -- OK, this choice will possibly kill my chances with you, but I like country music. The stories touch my heart.
Seldom go to the movies at the theater, enjoy movies at home.
Used to travel to NY frequently and love most Broadway musicals.
Books -- most novels; crime, drama, love stories
Travel -- Any where that has a beach is always my first choice. Planning to take my first cruise (in Europe) in Oct. 2014.
Boating -- Owned a 37 ft. double cabin motor yacht for 17 years on the Chesapeake Bay. I miss boating but the beach life is a good new adventure.
Six things I could never do without
My dad (Ohio) and sister (Nevada)
My "front row" friends
My glasses, you want me to see you right?! (ps -- I am getting tired of reading the menu to men that are too vain to wear their glasses)
All my "stuff" -- the year I was living in 3 places and many of my things were in storage was really hard
Good wine and good food
My housekeeper -- a girl needs at least one luxury . . . well actually I enjoy more than one luxury but I promise I am not spoiled!
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Renewing joy in my life vs. being busy. And will I find a partner to share my new adventures?
On a typical Friday night I am
Well, now that I am temporarily living in Ohio for the winter, I am alone in front of my Duralog. When at home at the beach, typically I would be at a wine tasting (Bin 66 Rehoboth) and then dinner out or cooking at home. Now that I am working again, Friday night is my 'time out'. Maybe reading a novel. Maybe catching up on my favorite TV series (Homeland, Hostages, Masters of Sex, etc). The better question is what would we be doing together?
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
Most people simply answer 'that is why it is private'. But I want you to know me so . . . I feel alone even when I am with other people, even my best friends. A good friend gave me a bag of charms with the words: Courage, Strength, Friendship and Joy. She see me as having these attributes. But in my heart, I have been missing Joy. I'm happy, but that is different than Joy. I want to be joyful again and share my joy and love with someone special.
You should message me if
You want to meet and figure out if we have any chemistry . . . do we enjoy doing things together? Not interested in chatting via email or text.
The two of us