33Rochester, United Kingdom
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I am small, friendly, occasionally quite witty and people tell me I'm intelligent (if people other than your Mum say this, then it's definitely true).
My life is not meticulously ordered, I am making it up as I go along. I'm in an interesting place at the moment, in which I have little time for a conventional relationship (through circumstance and choice) but miss male company something terrible.
Having a child means that I'm more practical and domesticated (meaning I don't prowl around at night, howl at the moon or bring home dead mice - I own a lot of tupperware and know all about the importance of fibre in your diet).
I do occasionally have relapses. These usually involve rum.
There's no need to feel sorry for me though - my daughter and I are a self sufficient unit, and I love that - this part of my life is not up for grabs. My daughter has a great Dad who is still very much involved in her life.
What I’m doing with my life
Currently I am retraining to be a foot health professional. This is eating up a lot of my non-mummy at the moment.

Being a single parent is tough, but we have a lot of fun and I still get time to myself and with my friends. And I get to watch Postman Pat every day. I don't have a great amount of time for a relationship at the moment - but I'm happy to see what happens.
I’m really good at
Spelling, daydreaming, leaving the oven on, listening and I try to be honest and kind at all times. There are probably many other things too.
The first things people usually notice about me
I'm not very tall? Who knows.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I love books! In fact, I'd go as far as calling myself a "word nerd". At the moment I'm working my way through Dickens, so I'd have to say Bleak House is my favourite book. As well as the classics I try and read contemporary stuff like David Nicholls.

Music is really important. My favourite bands are Shearwater, Red House Painters/Sun Kil Moon, Fleetwood Mac, Iron and Wine, Phosphorescent, Great Lake Swimmers, PJ Harvey, Bonobo and Modest Mouse. I love 90s Britpop (Suede, The Cranberries, Blur, Belle & Sebastian), Bob Dylan and Neil Young too. Ska and reggae are also great - Gladiators are a favourite.

I go through phases with films, at the moment I'm in a Sean Bean inspired costume drama phase (it'll pass!). My all time favourite films would have to be The Fountain, Benny and Joon and Once. Films don't have to go anywhere for me to like them, they don't have to be comfortable or heart warming and they don't necessarily need to make sense. Because life doesn't always do those things.

Due to the unfortunate fact that I have no Skyplus box and very little concept of time, my tv viewing is a bit hit and miss. Mostly miss. Game of Thrones has ruined my peace of mind. A week is far too long to wait for an episode.
Six things I could never do without
My daughter, family, friends, music, baked beans and sunshine.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
My daughter - she takes up most of my headspace just thinking about how clever and funny she is and about our adventures. It's amazing how small your world becomes when you have kids (it must be a hormonal/survival thing) and I quite often sit and wonder what I used to think about.

I'm quite ashamed to say that I rarely think about global issues (apart from things I can actually do something about like shopping and eating ethically) and politics. It's not that I don't care, I'm just a bit busy. One of my pet hates is when people express ill informed opinions or wade into discussions without really understanding what's being talked about - so unless I actually know what I'm on about, I tend to just sit back and listen!

My garden (I love gardening and watching stuff grow), my friends, the things I'm reading, daydreaming about holidays and places I'd like to go, reminiscing about people and places I used to know.

My next step. I'm not what you'd call a worrier, but I do take time to think about what I'm about to do before I do it, especially if this has implications for other people.

This year I have decided to write a haiku every month,so I think about that quite a bit.
On a typical Friday night I am
Maybe at home studying or ironing (thrilling stuff) or out with friends at a pub or watching a band (that sounds a bit cooler!).
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I have an irrational fear of wax jackets.
You should message me if
You like Sean Bean.
Feel that you'd like to make the world a friendlier place too.
You like talking about music or pre 1900 literature.
The two of us