SelfSufficient58
59Port Hadlock, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
SelfSufficient58
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
My Dad used to introduce me to his friends that way... "This is my baby, Mary Jo. She's been self sufficient since the age of two!!" Nothing I won't try to accomplish on my own. I'm grateful for every time Dad said that.

This would probably be the best reference I can offer... post from a brother-in-law (my first husband's brother) that I've known for 36 years: " As you have probably already noticed, MJ has the biggest heart of anyone I know. She's a very special and strong individual. The real plus about her is that she can change tires, fix a toilet, and love animals and people like no one else. I would look forward to meeting you someday!"

I walked away from the comfort of home as I knew it almost two years ago... sold the farm, the llamas and left my job for a change of pace. I learned the hard way that life and opportunity are not guaranteed. (Both of my husbands died within an 9 year span). I realized that there is more to life than a time clock and daily chores. I followed my passion and I bought a fixer-upper, 260 miles away from friends and family. I'm proud of the home I have created, having cut and nailed every 2 x 4 and set every tile, cabinet and fixture. This journey is nearly complete, and I search for new ways to unleash other hidden talents and discover yet another passion.

Retired, with time on my hands, I am physically able to commit to a new relationship. I can go anywhere at the drop of a hat. It doesn't matter if you work graveyard or have Tuesday and Wednesday off. I'm able to have fun in the kitchen. I have the time and capability to maintain my home so there is more time to play when you are available.

When I take a vacation, it is AWAY... Mexico, Hawaii, The Caribbean and Europe are favorite destinations. Peru is booked for this coming May. When I get there, I can't just sit by the pool. Water gives me an opportunity to go whale watching, snorkeling or sailing. I circled Aruba on a Harley. I saw the sunrise from the top of Haleakala. I trekked to the top of the Arch de Triomphe in Paris. I can't imagine doing any of that on my own.

I've had potential partners question my capability as a Mom... I adore kids. Probably the biggest thing missing in my life besides a companion. I pack up 10 cases of Halloween every year. Must be 200 Santas in the attic, anxious for Christmas. I love to celebrate holidays, and it is so much more special through the eyes of children!

My personal values include a woman's right to choose. Whatever her choice may be. I grew up with Title IX. Nice to see women's athletics supported now. Intimacy is a shared pleasure, not something with a timeline or expectation. Protecting Mother Earth includes recycling and environmental responsibility. Raised in the Lutheran church, I have yet to be sold on the existence of a God, but I believe in Christian principles and strong morals. Religion doesn't require a building!

I'm hopeful that this new path will include another loving, considerate and worthy partner. I treasure appropriate quotes, and this one is a favorite: "If life can remove someone you never thought of losing, it can replace them with someone you never thought of having." My mind and heart are open to the possibilities. Are you out there?
What I’m doing with my life
I used to design kitchens for Lowe's in Salem to keep the creditors away. Currently "retired", but that could change if I find the right gig.

The new place has only a third of an acre... I left the llamas in Oregon! I still have quite a bit of renovating to complete- I'll be busy with my nail gun and tile saw for quite a while. Still planning the landscape, my first priority outside will be edible gardens.

I treasure each opportunity I have to give back to the community. My favorite charity is the local Fire station- I look forward to dropping off garbage bags full of toys for the local kids each Christmas.
I’m really good at
Home improvement. Kissing. Reaching the top shelf in the grocery store. Finding great travel deals. Tying cherry stems into knots with my tongue.
The first things people usually notice about me
My height. My smile.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Book- "The Art of Racing in the Rain". Movies: "The Wizard of Oz" and "The Bucket List". "One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest" and "On Golden Pond". Shows: "Grey's Anatomy" and "Scandal". Music- it's an eclectic mix of Toby Keith, Journey and Coldplay. (no jazz or rap). Food- Anything that swims- crab, lobster, rainbow trout. Chocolate.
Six things I could never do without
Companionship. A vehicle. A credit card. A saws-all. Chocolate. Kisses lasting longer than 10 seconds.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Finding a new long-term companion. Looking at profiles on line, and wondering why people post blurry, grainy, crooked or otherwise uncomplimentary photos of themselves. Looking at same photos and wishing I could give these people a haircut or shave...
Also wondering why people who have quit searching leave their profiles on line for us serious lookers to waste our time on.
Wondering where my next adventure will be.
On a typical Friday night I am
When you are retired, no day is ever "typical"! It's FRIDAY???
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I've never seen The Game of Thrones!
You should message me if
You're looking for a sincere, honest, respectable and trustworthy companion who loves to laugh. You like to travel.
More
The two of us
--
Lifestyle
--
Other
--
Dating
--
Sex
--
Ethics
--
Religion