41Arlington, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm from 'DC' like everyone is, by which I mean that I'm from Maryland. I now live in Virginia about 1/2 hour from where I grew up.

I have really wide and varied interests and they are growing all the time. I love to learn and the library is one of my favorite places. Some of my interests are: space, writing, criminology/forensics and mycology. Life is more fun, the more you know!

I am also asexual. I don't experience sexual attraction like most people. Please ask or research if you are unfamiliar with asexuality.

I do desire companionship and I love physical affection and cuddling, I just don't want sex.* I'm not damaged or traumatized, so I'm not looking for anyone to change or "fix" me. I am happy the way I am.

I am interested in men for a dating relationship, but I also would love to meet new people, regardless of gender for friendship and adventures.

I'm basically looking for a man to go to the movies and to museums with, to have dinner with and to sit on the couch and snuggle with. I want all the fun couple stuff of dating, including physical affection and other intimacies, just no sex.

Also, for those hesitant or wondering about my kid, he's 17 and about to head off to college in the fall. No worries about finding a babysitter or anything of that sort there.

*I am not totally ruling out sex, I know this seems contrary to asexuality, but it is not. There are variations in asexuality just like in any sexuality. For me, there would have to be intense trust for me to ever enter an intimate relationship with anyone.
What I’m doing with my life
Working and going to school. After many, many years I finally figured what I wanted to be when I grew up and I'm pursuing that. I'm really enjoying college.

Otherwise, I tangentially work for the government, and watch a lot of weird documentaries.
I’m really good at
Getting things down from high places. Trivia games. Finding good parking. Untangling knots. Being a loyal friend. Going with the flow.
The first things people usually notice about me
That I'm tall! But let me say that I have no height preferences. If it doesn't bother you, it doesn't bother me.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Favorite movies: The Bourne Trilogy, Amelie, Stranger Than Fiction, Eternal Sunshine of The Spotless Mind.

TV Shows: How It's Made, Modern Marvels, anything about space. Cold Case Files.

Music:My tastes vary widely, I like anything but super hard core rap. On rotation right now: Sleigh Bells, Fiona Apple, David Bowie, The Duke Spirit. Absolute favorite bands: The Smiths, Spoon, The Stone Roses, Portishead, The Sundays, The Lemonheads, and Steve Miller Band.

Food: I'll try anything, but I have to avoid dairy, which is sad.

Books: I worked at a bookstore for 10 years, so I LOVE books and reading. I've read a set of encyclopedias and an almanac. I read most any genre as long as the subject is compelling.

I'm also a big hockey fan and actually know the rules of the game.

I have also been to all the art museums in DC more than once and love them all.
Six things I could never do without
Hmm, if I'm limiting this to things that are actually objects and not people or conceptual ideas, then my six things are:

My glasses
A pen and paper
Sweet potatoes
I spend a lot of time thinking about
The future. My goals. Books, music. That damn bee in the X-Files movie. How space wants to kill us all. If there's a shark in the pool. The weather in California. What's wrong with the Caps and why Ovechkin can't backcheck. Why there isn't a real Starfleet Academy.
On a typical Friday night I am
If I'm not having dinner with friends, then I'm probably home watching a documentary or Archer for 9 billionth time.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm not afraid of sharks in the ocean, but I am scared that there might be sharks in the pool. Yes, I realize this is ridiculous. But so is this prompt.
You should message me if
You love learning about new things and want to seek out new life and new civilizations. Or if anything I said interests you.
The two of us