35Long Island City, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I enjoy having fun, being cosmopolitan, chilling with friends, meeting new ones, and laughing my guts out. I am currently taking a break from being a PhD student at Princeton. Once I go back, I hope to travel, teach, and write when I graduate. I love great conversation, I'm sarcastic, creative, witty, athletic and a genius, which makes me a great date, if you enjoy a challenge! :) Once you get to know me, you won't want to leave me alone. I'm an open-minded individual and willing to try anything at least once. Usually I hang out with my friends on the weekends. I can do anything I set my mind to; I just haven't set my mind in a really long time ;) Traveling is one of my favorite things to do - I recently went on a trip to Israel, Amsterdam, Istanbul, Brussels, and Paris. Somehow I avoided causing an international incident.. or at least getting caught for it.

I'm Chinese (it runs in the family) but I get asked about twice a week whether or not I'm Hawaiian. One time, after I answered No, someone asked me if I was sure.. wtf!? haha! People have also suggested that I am Hispanic, Latin, Indian, and "Texan." And recently someone said that they appreciated learning more about my culture by watching Slumdog Millionaire. yeah. For the record, I don't carry an abacus around, am not great with math, I pronounce "Rolling Rock" with all the appropriate L and R sounds, I don't own either a nail salon or a laundromat (though if you do, i'd love a discount), and I don't walk around saying "Me love you lonnng tiiime." I can speak Chinese but not very well, and I can't do karate though I'm pretty much a card-carrying ninja (which also runs in the family).

I'm a huge Duke basketball fan (I went there for my master's) and enjoy going to the gym. Otherwise, I spend my time Grad Studenting, Binge Papering, Leading the blind, Pitying the fool, Being laid back, and Wandering Aimlessly. I've played the piano for 20 years, and I also bartend on the side. One day I hope to own a Sham Wow.
What I’m doing with my life
Living in New York after going to Princeton for grad school - basically taking a much needed breather from school and enjoying life for a while!
I’m really good at
conversations, making people laugh, listening (a lost art, I think?), playing the piano, going to the gym, bartending, juggling midgets.
The first things people usually notice about me
I'm Asian.
I have a wide range of interests but tend to love intellectual conversations and laid back people who are open minded.
I tend to befriend people very easily, and have an uncanny ability to remember lots of details about people.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books - Life of Pi, Birds Without Wings, The Catcher in the Rye, Poisonwood Bible, Crime and Punishment, I read a lot - so I tend to love good books! Please send me good book recs!

Movies / TV Shows - It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia, Tosh.0, Dexter, Nurse Jackie, Weeds, Mad Men, Modern Family, How I Met Your Mother, American Beauty, 500 Days of Summer, The Hangover, Little Miss Sunshine, 40 Year Old Virgin, Forgetting Sarah Marshall, The Weather Man, Scent of a Woman

Music - 80s music, alternative, anything acoustic, Vampire Weekend, Dashboard Confessional, Linkin Park, Jack Johnson, Ray LaMontagne, Breaking Benjamin, The Killers, Kings of Leon, some rap / R&B

Food - Chinese, Thai, Indian, sushi, Italian, a good burger
Six things I could never do without
1. Laughter. I value people who take themselves seriously, but not too seriously! You've gotta be able to see the funnier side of life!
2. Family. Because they're bread and butter.
3. Friends. I'm loyal to a fault and expect the same of my friends.
4. Music. A wise person once said, "They can take everything from me - my possessions, my limbs, my sight - but they can never strip me from my soul and the music within."
5. My Passport. I love traveling, and I'm known to take quick, impulsive trips abroad.
6. My Abacus. Good asians never leave home without it. j/k. Books. I love reading, especially with a nice cup of coffee.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
cultural anthropology, issues of diversity / race, what books to buy next, investments
On a typical Friday night I am
out with my friends!
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I pretend to text in awkward situations.
You should message me if
you can spell common knowledge words correctly, you can converse intelligently on a wide variety of topics, you own a Sham-Wow, you know the difference between they're / their / there, are open-minded, laid back, and would love to have fun in the City!
The two of us