61Roanoke, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I probably talk too much, and ask too many questions. But I'm really curious about everything. I'm a raging extrovert and will talk to a tree if I'm bored. I'm not a tree hugger, just a talker.

I am not a morning person. Do not speak to me before 10 a.m. However, be prepared to be talking if you are awake after 10 p.m. because 10 p.m. to 2 a.m. are my peak hours for talking, watching movies and working. I don't like it that way, but that's how my body works.

I love to fish, travel, camp and be in the great outdoors, particularly if it involves food, eating, holding a fishing pole or a glass of sweet tea.

I'm self-employed so I can do all that too! I'm old, but not dead. That means I still enjoy doing things, just not at breakneck speed anymore. A day on a boat (from canoe or john-boat to something larger, just being on the water is cool). a day spent at a flea market, or junkyard is great.

Looking for someone who enjoys working with their hands - carpentry, wood working, fishing and gardening. I've been a police officer, journalist, photo-journalist and raft guide, among about 100 other things. I'm insanely curious, fun, sometimes intense and have no room in my life for drama, bull-sh** or games.

I love working with wood, doing home projects, making things with wood, sewing, painting, quilting - although I don't get behind the sewing machine as much as I'd like. I like to travel and am as comfortable sleeping in the back of my van as I am a hotel. I drive a 75 Chevy van (G30 series....I know, they rock right?) I'm a jeans, turtleneck and flannel shirt gal, but I clean up well and enjoy doing that too. I own more power tools than shoes.

I like my steak rare and barbequed by someone else. Love veggies, but am definitely a carnivore.
What I’m doing with my life
I'm a writer. My first book was about UFOs, a novel on Amazon called "The October Abduction of Thomas Martin." I currently ghost write, freelance and have several corporate clients. I'm looking forward to traveling more, having been to Africa twice in 2013. I want to get to Alaska, Israel and Australia in 2014, hopefully with a friend or someone I meet here.

I like taking classes - and want to learn to weld in 2014. Also interested in taking some classes in woodworking as I'd like to build my own travel trailer (tiny house) some day. I'm not desperate for a relationship, but if one happens, okay then. I'm NOT LONELY being alone. I just want to add a few friends and see what happens. I'll live even if I don't meet anyone special here.

I went to Africa twice this year on both a mission trip and work assignment. Loved it. Came back and started, a non-profit to help African women get the medical supplies they need when having babies. I enjoy traveling and wish I'd done more overseas stuff when I was younger. Looking to make up for lost time in the coming years.
I’m really good at
Shopping, but mostly at hardware stores, camping stores, fishing stores, gun stores are fun, so is anyplace that sells outdoor stuff, camera stuff...

Also good at talking, traveling, distracting others from whatever they're working on, eating, building campfires, listening, helping others, watching movies and seeing the silver lining in every cloud.
The first things people usually notice about me
My smile, my sense of humor and my intelligence. I'm not a rocket scientist, but I can carry on a conversation about almost anything.

I don't like to gossip, so the first thing gossipers notice about me is I'm bored and wander away.

Men who come on with remarks about sex and physicality notice I'm turned off. Not interested until I'm married. I'm not a prude. I just respect myself.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
I confess, I'm a conspiracy junkie. LOVE LOVE LOVE The X-Files, the Matrix, anything by Thomas Horn. I love Coast-to-Coast radio and anything about UFOs. I'm a country, pop and 70-90's pop music person. Food? Anything, but partial to BBQ, Thai and steaks. LOVE sushi too. I'm not a big desert person, but I do have a weakness for fudgesicles and HUGE bowls of fresh fruit. Not together....but they're my sweet treats!
Six things I could never do without
I'm a "christ follower," meaning I don't do religion, but I do have a relationship with Jesus Christ. Am looking for someone with same values. It's not complex, but it is important. Not a bible thumper, but not interested in atheists or anyone who wants to argue religion. So, my faith is one thing I can't do without.

Being creative, whether painting, sewing, writing, photography or woodworking, building stuff is a must have.

My two cats. Wish I had another Rottweiler since I love them, but can't find an apartment that allows them any more.

My camera. I'm a former journalist and photographer and my camera and the chance to document everything that happens to me is important.

Variety in life is critical. I am bored to tears with routine. I like to have a lot of different things to focus on and I like something new and different to look forward to every day.

Travel. I love traveling, whether its' driving around the city, the state or getting on a plane to fly someone. I love driving and finding new places to visit, new restaurants to try.
I spend a lot of time thinking about
God. The rapture. Chocolate. Aliens. UFOs. My next job. Travel. Vacation. Where I left my keys.
On a typical Friday night I am
Having dinner with a friend, settling in at home with a good movie, reading, sleeping or working.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I can't eat just one fudgesicle...So I often eat 4 or 5 at a sitting. Still, I'm losing weight!
You should message me if
You actually read this entire profile. There is a test. If you like to fish, appreciate intelligent women, don't have kids unless they're FRIENDLY, accepting of new people in your life and are okay sharing dad (I don't care for the drama, competition for daddy, and having to be "approved" by them to be friends. It seems like kids ALWAYS bring competition to a relationship), like to travel, have a sense of humor, can cook, are interested in something besides sex, have a life, don't smoke and don't drug.
The two of us