MGLawrence
32 Brookfield, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
MGLawrence
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
Finished grad school, now working in Connecticut.

===

Now in Pittsburgh! Had a blast climbing Kilimanjaro and am now settling in to my new life as a graduate student.

I'm pretty straight-forward and honest - sometimes too honest. I prefer to remain positive and the only thing I really hate is hatred; it's rarely useful. I'm _always_ up to do anything, schedule permitting, and I'll very, very rarely flake. Balance and moderation are key to me - I've had plenty of excesses and I'm sure I'll have more (they're fun!!) but I strive towards maintaining an even keel.

====

Born in DC but moved to Lubbock, Texas at 11. Graduated from Rice with a degree in Electrical Engineering and am off to pursue an MBA at CMU (Tepper, in Pittsburgh) this fall. I've worked primarily in consulting in the interim, currently in healthcare. I enjoy reading, board games and trying random new things (usually found via meetup.com or through friends). Travel rocks. I'm pretty into robotics. I bicycle as a hobby; hiking / camping with friends is fun.
What I’m doing with my life
I feel like I answered this in the above. Hmm. I guess I can add that I'm probably going to focus on Information Systems at CMU and work with NREC there to create a business around robotics. That seems awfully specific for such a long-term plan, though, so we'll see.
I’m really good at
making plans? And acting on them. I used to play clarinet and piano; I was pretty decent at those.
The first things people usually notice about me
I don't generally ask. Probably my height.
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books: science fiction (Asimov, Heinlein, Niven, Pournelle), fantasy (Tolkien, Dragonlance series), occasionally throw-away books (Crichton, Clancy, etc.). I'm currently in the middle of Mere Christianity (recommended by a friend studying to become a priest; I enjoyed Narnia much more before I realized it was a Christian allegory :)). (Yes, I also enjoy parenthetical expressions)

Movies: Anything thought-provoking or seemingly profound. American History X, Inception, etc. Light fare is often welcome, too :)... The Incredibles is amazing.

Shows: Daily Show / Colbert Report, Fringe, Castle, Always Sunny for current shows.

Music: Eminem tops my list. Honestly pretty much anything depending on the venue and mood.

Food: Italian, Mexican, Greek, American
The six things I could never do without
Friends
Family
Exercise (currently doing Cross Fit)
Internet
Change
Competition
I spend a lot of time thinking about
Work, current interests (working out, robotics, business school planning), free time activities

How to achieve efficiency, minimalism, and transparency in all things.
On a typical Friday night I am
with friends. I'm in the enviable state of meeting lots and lots of new people through school so weekends are staying pretty full at the moment. Went white-water rafting yesterday (7/31/11, a Sunday) and have been checking out all the Shadyside, Ellsworth and Station Square bars and clubs.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
I'm not a big fan of privacy. The only limitations I place on my communications are more for the hearing party than for myself - some people just aren't interested in knowing all my thoughts as they form, for some reason :).
You should message me if
you'd like to hang out. I'm not really into pen-paling it. Going to a bar, restaurant, coffee shop or whatever doesn't mean we have to spend the rest of our lives together ;-).
More