MadEngineer
33 Pasadena, United States
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
MadEngineer
Join today
Find great matches with our advanced matching system!
My self-summary
I'm a 32 year old mechanical/electrical/software engineer, definitely a bit of a geek, but with a pretty wide range of interests. I'm looking for friends, someone to date, or something more serious with the right person. I'd like to find someone I can hang out with, who maybe shares some of my interests (cars, motorcycles, weird uncategorizable usually funny books and other media of all kinds...). I have a sometimes totally random sense of humor, and can find something amusing or interesting in the oddest places. I guess that makes me easily amused--I like to think it's in a good way though.
What I’m doing with my life
Moved to Pasadena a few years ago from the East Coast...I definitely like it here! I'm working on alternative fuel vehicles, mostly doing programming these days. Recently got into building analog music synthesizer modules, which looks like it'll be an interesting sideline.
I’m really good at
Anything mechanical or electrical, finding connections between things and humor in unusual places.

Not saying the right thing at the right time. (If I come off as abrasive, I probably didn't mean to.) If you know Buffy the Vampire Slayer, Anya's lines sometimes remind me of myself, except for the part about being a demon.
The first things people usually notice about me
Usually that I'm really smart with anything technical...sometimes intimidatingly so, I try to avoid that but it does happen
Favorite books, movies, shows, music, and food
Books that come to mind at the moment: Terry Pratchett's Discworld series, pretty much anything by Christopher Moore or Neil Stephenson, police/detective novels, and sometimes literary junk food that I won't go into here :)

Movies, semi-randomly sampled: V for Vendetta, Brain Candy, Cannibal! The Musical, Coraline, the Grindhouse films, Killer Condom, Reefer Madness, They Live, Top Secret...

TV: Doctor Who, Family Guy, Invader Zim, Big Bang Theory, Venture Bros....

Music: Rush, Roxette, Social Distortion, Alan Parsons Project, Cascada, Daft Punk, Def Leppard, Fair To Midland, Juno Reactor, Lady Gaga, Mesh, Muse, Orgy, VNV Nation, and a lot more...

Food: Indian, the rest of Asia, Mexican...really a lot of stuff.
The six things I could never do without
Something interesting to work on.
Friends to hang out with and talk to.
Someplace to get away to every now and then.
A sense of humor; I don't think I could function taking life completely seriously.

Still trying to think of the other two...
I spend a lot of time thinking about
How things and people work...I'm not making much progress on the latter unfortunately.
On a typical Friday night I am
At home watching a movie/reading a book/online, or out with friends someplace.
The most private thing I’m willing to admit
You should probably ask me that...it's private, and it varies from person to person, so I'm not going to put it here :P
You should message me if
I seem like the sort of person you're looking for, or if there's something in my profile that piques your curiosity. Pretty much the usual reasons for emailing people.
More